Timing Belt & Water Pump question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lowe

Reaction score
Hey guys. I have a 02 Accord with only 51000 miles on it. I'm no car expert and always thought Honda timing belts had a good 80,000-10,000 miles on them. I recently stumbled upon a post that said it should be replaced every 10 years. I don't have the owners manual as I bought the car used and was curious if that fact was true?

If so, should I just go ahead and replace the water pump too? Any heads up would be great. Is there any other maintenance that should be done that I dont know about? I bought the car with 45000 on it and have no maintenance history before that. Sorry for the newb question. Thanks fellas!

F23A1AT

Reaction score
It depends on your location and conditions the car has been driven in. Yes, you should replace the water pump when doing the timing belt; it is like and extra 5 mins of work and considering the amount of time it takes to get the belt off it is well worth the extra effort.

Jyos

Reaction score
You can check out the Honda maintenance schedule for your car here:

http://www.honda.ca/owners/honda-services/maintenance-calculator

I believe the Honda Accord interval for TB change is every 100k and at 168k correct me if i'm wrong.. Most people change the water pump with their timing belt

Edit: Just realized your in Chicago and I posted a Canada link :doh:

Last edited:

metrick1235

Reaction score