jaz

Reaction score
did a search but not really sure what to search for so if this has already been brought up please direct me to the thread, or maybe you can help..

ocansionally when i go to start up my car it turns on... then just seems to stall out and the RPMs just drop to 0 and the car basically just dies i guess. and then i have to try again and just hit the gas and put it into gear making sure the RPMS stay high so it doesnt stall out/die.. is this the alternator? a bad fuel line? i have nooo idea.. maybe if some1 has experience with this to tell me what i need to do/get before my car just wont start... thanks

that1redacc0rd

Reaction score
Re: car stalling out

im no pro, but i wanna guess the Idle Air Control Valve...i have similar problems but it wont die out when i start the car..just when im driving and come to a stop, my RPMs would idle really low and feels like its about to die out on me...and my cars shaking n whatnot..theres a couple DIYs on how to clean your IACV...just a random guess soooooo dont full on take my word for it lol

finch13

Reaction score

Could be a clogged IACV passageway... like 100% clogged. When the throttle plate is closed (no foot on the pedal), air has to get past it somehow for the car to idle. This is what the IACV does, it constantly regulated are passing through it depending on coolant temperature and a bunch of other things.

Could also be a sticking IACV or something similar since it only happens at start up.

Has the ignition switch recall been done to the car yet? Call Honda or register on Honda Owner Link to see what has and hasn't been done.

HondaLuver83

Reaction score

You answered your own question in your other thread about your map sensor.

Alternator has almost nothing to do with starting your car. Even if you had a bad alternator, a good battery can keep the car running for a little while. A bad fuel line is unlikely. Gasoline has a lot of cleaners and detergents, it helps keep things very clean.