DIY Sound deadening?

jonny

Reaction score
Would it be at all possible to take foam exercise pads and/or foam bed egg crates and put them in the door panel as a sound deadening alternative to dynamat?
I've been using both the foam pads and the egg crates as sound proofing for my basement where my brother and I play drums and guitar. It made a huge improvement in sound quality and the punchy-ness of his drums. I don't know if it would do the same in a car though, or that it's even safe (seeing as it's around wires and stuff). I'm not an expert on car audio, but it seems like it would make an improvement in bass response and help keep outside noise from getting in.

Anyone tried this in the past or have some insight?

schmiddr2

Reaction score
That is not sound dampening, it's sound absorption. It does work to absorb road noise, rattles and rear sound waves of the speaker, but it does not do what Dynamat or other sound dampening does. If you want to gain some functions of a Dynamat type product you will need to add mass to the door panels, specifically parts that are mostly flat (not panels that have lots of bends or are bolted to other panels because they are already less likely to flex or vibrate). The other use for Dynamat is to seal over openings/air holes in a door to create a more sealed door to capture rear waves and improve speaker response.

jonny

Reaction score