DIY: Resealing a leaky oil pan with Hondbond

Raymond

Reaction score
My car is a '99 AV6 coupe with 118k miles. I bought it used a few months ago and when I was doing the suspension installation I noticed the underside of the car was lightly coated in dirty oil and found where it had a slight leak from the oil pan.

Did some searching here on V6p and found it was a pretty common issue on these cars, but didn't really find a good "how to" on how to go about fixing it without taking it to a dealer and getting raped on labor charges.

In total this job costed me $30 total.

$15 for the Hondabond HT (honda dealer)
$15 for the 5 quarts of oil and a new Fram filter (sale at Autozone)

Approx time needed (for a first timer like me): 4-6 hours, being generous. It could be done in 1-2 hours.

For the record, this is how I did this on my car, so if someone follows these steps and somehow hurts themself or damages their vehicle, I am in no way responsible. I am not a mechanic, nor a professional.

--

*Put the front of the car on jackstands and block the rear wheels - I had both front wheels removed and the car jacked pretty high to give me more room to work.

*I drained the oil over night. Placed a large pan underneath the car and removed the drain plug and the oil filter. I only did this because it got dark the night before when I got started, but if nothing else it assured every drop of oil was drained before I got to work the next morning, and the car was completely cooled off by the time I was down there.

*Dropped the J-pipe. I didn't completely remove it from the catalytic converter, just used some long extensions and a ratchet to get to the bolts on the exhaust manifolds front and rear and dropped it down onto the floor. There were three bolts on each, so six total. If you wanted to completely remove it from the cat that would have been another three bolts - but I didn't find that necessary. You'll also need to unplug the front 02 sensor, one small bolt holds it up.