Go Back   6th Gen Accord DIY and Performance Forums > The Garage > DIY - Do It Yourself Forum

DIY - Do It Yourself Forum We have a lot of threads on how to do things yourself, from air intakes to suspension, brakes, even electronics. Please search first, if you can't find an article about what you're wanting to do just ask for help

Register to remove these ads

Old 11-11-2015, 10:11 PM
Points: 1,857, Level: 12 Points: 1,857, Level: 12 Points: 1,857, Level: 12
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

sirruph is somewhat reliable
steering wheel mod under $20

ok, guys, before i start - i'm a poor european student, so please no jokes on my english

the beginning

i've arrived to Texas with a big hopes, dreams and a $3k in hand to buy a car. two weeks lates i was a happy owner of 2001 coupe LX. mechanical stuff apart, the only thing that bothered me was the steering wheel: it was thin, ugly, sun damaged and, well, it was not a pleasant thing to touch

the Project

after a brief research i knew about the acura swap option, but prices from $60 on ebay for a really bad ones left me no choice but to ditch this idea.
inspired by my previous car (civic type R FN2) and its steering wheel

i've bought the $4.99 floor mat from ROSS and a $8.99 vynil pseudo-perforated upholstery from ebay. with taxes and delivery it came up at grand total of exactly 20 bucks

ready... steady... GO!

first Ė Iíve decided to cut the damaged part rather than trying to restore it

second Ė Iíve sliced the floor mat and begin to gain the necessary thickness by sewing layer after layer

well, Iím lazy, so after the first layer I decided just fasten it

when the desired thickness was reached, Iíve leveled it up with some layers of electric tape (the duct tape, probably, would be better, but as was stated Ė Iím a lazy person and the electric tape was just there)

third Ė the layer or mat across the whole wheel should in theory eliminate the problem with the thinness of it