Transmission Finally Gone....

Ace37

Reaction score
I knew this time would come, just wish I had done more research before I bought this car. Don't even feel safe driving anymore because now besides the slip, I can be in 3rd or 4th cruising at 50-70 and the Tranny randomly decides "hey this gear is too high for this speed" and tries to kick down a gear and jerk thr whole car WHILE I'M MOVING! And Tranny won't bite anything until over 5k if I'm starting from a stop so can't do it. I'm a college student, I don't have a ******load of money right now to throw at the car but I need a running car asap. The 6speed swap is over 2k in parts alone, rebuilt Tranny about 7, rebuild kit and have a shop do it is about 7/8 and I can't afford it. So basically I'm trying to see if there's a way to distinguish between rebuilthe Trannies and the used ******ed up ones, maybe extra coding or markings.....??? If you don't know where I'm going with this, basically I want to go yank one out from the yard but not tryna run into the same situation and I read somewhere about another car that when the trannies were rebuilt there was additional markings to tell. Don't be cynical and rant about getting a new one and how I shouldn't do this and that, Im aware. This is only temporary until I can afford the correct fix. Again if ur comment is negative just move on, already in a bad position.

irtiza18

Reaction score
Thank God youre okay, im ina similar position as you are, i think you should yank another good tranny out of the yard and just swap it with the same one

604ACCORD

Reaction score
My van did same thing they replaced the clutch discs with heavy duty ones and flushed out trans cooler, re drilled some fluid channels they said were to small. Cost me 1500 have not had any issues since.

Ace37

Reaction score
Thank God youre okay, im ina similar position as you are, i think you should yank another good tranny out of the yard and just swap it with the same one