Go Back   6th Gen Accord DIY and Performance Forums > The Garage > Accord Tech

Accord Tech Anything tech-related that doesn't necessarily fit in the other forums. CEL Codes, torque specs, etc all go in here

Register to remove these ads


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-23-2018, 12:36 PM
SiddarthaT SiddarthaT is offline
Junior Member
Points: 61, Level: 1 Points: 61, Level: 1 Points: 61, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2
Rep Power: 0
SiddarthaT is an unknown quantity at this point
O2 Sensor simulator - partial success? HELP NEEDED

Hey all,
So my 2000 Accord v6 started throwing a p0420 which was narrowed down to needing a new cat converter. Now, im a broke college student and don't really have the money to drop at the moment, so I put together an o2 sensor simulator (as per tinyurl(dot)com/6galink1).


With the engine off and the car in the run position, it behaves as expected. (graph: tinyurl(dot)com/6galink2)

But when I turn te engine on, I get this: tinyurl(dot)com/6galink3


Would someone be able to provide some insight into this as to why it's happening and how I might be able to fix it?

(sorry about link workaround, im new)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2018, 04:16 PM
WHEEELMAN's Avatar
WHEEELMAN WHEEELMAN is offline
Senior Member
Points: 13,781, Level: 35 Points: 13,781, Level: 35 Points: 13,781, Level: 35
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Georgia
Age: 46
Posts: 764
Rep Power: 51
WHEEELMAN is more helpful than most
Member Photo Albums
Re: O2 Sensor simulator - partial success? HELP NEEDED

Simulator? are you using some kind of electronic device workaround to remove the code? Can't help you there...


Could just be the sensor itself.

If so, use Denso or NTK(NGK), Bosch is junk
(try this as solution #2 if solution #1 does not remove the error code as this is about $50 to $60).


If you are using this "simulator" in an attempt to pass Emissions check. All you need to do is move the o2 sensor out of the pathway of the exhaust gases. Check youtube vids for guidance.
(try this as solution #1 as it is about a $5 fix.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2018, 12:26 AM
SiddarthaT SiddarthaT is offline
Junior Member
Points: 61, Level: 1 Points: 61, Level: 1 Points: 61, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2
Rep Power: 0
SiddarthaT is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: O2 Sensor simulator - partial success? HELP NEEDED

So uh, I already installed the simulator and removing it basically means replacing the o2 sensor.

The signal line of the o2 sensor isn't connected to the sensor anymore, just the simulator. The heater line however is still connected, could this be a factor?

The car still throws a p0420.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


» Featured Ride
CHECK OUT THIS WEEK'S FEATURED RIDE!



Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3