Lowering question?

Sl1m_Shady

Reaction score
Alright so im fairly new to 6thgenaccords, and im starting to work on mine.

Already put a new performance exhaust, CAI, lights, brakes, etc.

Only now im thinking i should lower it to make it more sleek-looking and handle a bit better. I have the stock rims on my 01 ex sedan, and am looking into buying new rims to go with it.

ONLY

the problem is, should i even attempt to install the springs myself? I have a lift and all the necessary tools, but again im not sure i want to put the well-being of my car into my non-professional hands...

soo...

is there anyone who has done it themselves? is there a DIY thread for it?

i can always look online, but jobs like this are extensive....

if i just bring it to a shop, how much would they normally charge for the springs to be installed themselves??

any input would be appreciated

thanks!

JayStuff

Reaction score
Look at the diy master list under strut spring install. Are you only installing springs? You just need to borrow a spring compressor from a local auto shop. If they ask you to rent it, it can't possibly cost too much. Les shwab will do it for about 200 but you have to buy the sounds from them or they won't install em.

RedRyder

Save the manuals
Reaction score
Install yourself if you're comfortable getting your hands dirty.

There is a DIY. Most people here have done it themselves, but not all.

Call a shop to get a quote.

truWarier02

Reaction score
Here's a really useful site/blog on some DIY's for the accord.

http://www.filtsai.com/accord/index.php

Btw, shops around my area in los angeles generally charge anywhere from 100-200 for springs/coilover installation. That should kind of give you an idea if you were to give it to a shop to do it.

Lowman

Reaction score
Do you have any friends into cars that have done a similar job? try it yourself, its always a good learning experience.

fallout09890

Reaction score