Go Back   6th Gen Accord DIY and Performance Forums > The Garage > Car Audio & Electronics

Register to remove these ads


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-17-2017, 11:00 AM
Jayson Jayson is offline
Junior Member
Points: 7,598, Level: 26 Points: 7,598, Level: 26 Points: 7,598, Level: 26
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 17
Rep Power: 0
Jayson is an unknown quantity at this point
Aftermarket stereo resetting on startup

I am having a strange issue with my aftermarket stereo, was hoping someone here could help me diagnose the problem.

I installed the stereo about a year or two ago (edit: stereo is a Kenwood DDX9702S), and I'm confident it is wired correctly because it used to work fine in the past. Recently I noticed an issue with my stereo going to the "Initial startup" each time I start my car, as if the battery had been disconnected. However, it is retaining it's memory, all my setting are saved. It simply just shows the "Initial startup" menu and after I press "OK" everything is normal again.

Recently my battery had been giving me trouble, and eventually seemed to die completely so I replaced it. My car was still having trouble starting after replacing the battery and I then realized it was the starter that seemed to be going out so I replaced that as well. Now my car seems to be working fine again and starts up every time no problem.

I figured the weird issues with my stereo were related to the battery/starter problems and assumed it would correct itself once they were replaced, but it is still going to the initial startup menu each time I start the car. I tried to research further, but everything I've read regarding this issue people suggest that the "constant 12v and ignition" wires are mixed up, but I am 100% sure that I have them wired properly.

I used my multi meter just to double check some things, and did notice that when testing the red "ignition" wire, the voltage will drop to 0 when starting the engine and then quickly return to the ~12V range. Is this normal? Could this possibly be affecting the stereo and causing this problem?

Last edited by Jayson; 06-17-2017 at 12:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2017, 12:28 PM
Blazinqwickly Blazinqwickly is offline
Member
Points: 2,862, Level: 15 Points: 2,862, Level: 15 Points: 2,862, Level: 15
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 51
Rep Power: 0
Blazinqwickly is an unknown quantity at this point
Member Photo Albums
Re: Aftermarket stereo resetting on startup

The model and make of the head unit you are using might also help some of the other people chime in on your thread.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2017, 12:36 PM
Jayson Jayson is offline
Junior Member
Points: 7,598, Level: 26 Points: 7,598, Level: 26 Points: 7,598, Level: 26
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 17
Rep Power: 0
Jayson is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Aftermarket stereo resetting on startup

Originally Posted by Blazinqwickly View Post
The model and make of the head unit you are using might also help some of the other people chime in on your thread.
The stereo is a Kenwood DDX9702S (<--link)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2017, 02:17 PM
dawg316's Avatar
dawg316 dawg316 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 998, Level: 8 Points: 998, Level: 8 Points: 998, Level: 8
Activity: 58% Activity: 58% Activity: 58%
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: canada
Posts: 139
Rep Power: 3
dawg316 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Aftermarket stereo resetting on startup

redwire turns the headunit on . the wire id focus on in the yellow wire on the radio side connector. that should have 12volts with the key off and key on

test that and get back to me
__________________

SOLD: 1994 EG sedan boosted 10 psi 185hp/170lb.tq
Currrent: 2000 Accord coupe h22a4 swaped ( new wheels coming soon)
Subscribe to my youtube: Wrenchlife 604 * Click red letters to view *
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2017, 02:34 PM
Jayson Jayson is offline
Junior Member
Points: 7,598, Level: 26 Points: 7,598, Level: 26 Points: 7,598, Level: 26
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 17
Rep Power: 0
Jayson is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Aftermarket stereo resetting on startup

Originally Posted by dawg316 View Post
redwire turns the headunit on . the wire id focus on in the yellow wire on the radio side connector. that should have 12volts with the key off and key on

test that and get back to me
I tested the yellow wire with a multimeter and it stays consistently in the ~12V range, fluctuates maybe 2Vs max up or down.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2017, 08:21 PM
dawg316's Avatar
dawg316 dawg316 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 998, Level: 8 Points: 998, Level: 8 Points: 998, Level: 8
Activity: 58% Activity: 58% Activity: 58%
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: canada
Posts: 139
Rep Power: 3
dawg316 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Aftermarket stereo resetting on startup

Originally Posted by Jayson View Post
I tested the yellow wire with a multimeter and it stays consistently in the ~12V range, fluctuates maybe 2Vs max up or down.
most likely an internal circuit inside the radio then.

can you substite a known working radio back in or even throw the oem one back in and check to see if the problem goes away
__________________

SOLD: 1994 EG sedan boosted 10 psi 185hp/170lb.tq
Currrent: 2000 Accord coupe h22a4 swaped ( new wheels coming soon)
Subscribe to my youtube: Wrenchlife 604 * Click red letters to view *
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


» Featured Ride
CHECK OUT THIS WEEK'S FEATURED RIDE!



Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3