JDM F23 Swap (the fall and rise of my accord)

Gmoney

Reaction score
hey guys,

im not a prominent poster here but i soon will be, ive been getting a few pm's about my f23 swap and if i had any issues so i decided to make a thread since i dont believe there is one.

the background-
i previously had the ulev f23 one day i was driving to visit some relatives about a 130 mile drive, about half way on the highway my cluster just goes crazy the oil light popped up, the check engine was blinking it was a catestrophic failure. the car felt as if it was going to stall but luckly it made it chugging along at a steady 50 mph because if i went faster it would feel as if it was going to shake apart. once i got to my destination i took it to a honda dealer since i didnt trust the techs there, they said there was a misfire on 3 out of 4 cylinders and no compression in cylinder 3 they wanted to charge me 2000 bucks i just bounced. the car sat in the driveway for 3 months

thinking it was over for the accord i stumbled upon an idea, there are a bunch of engine shops here in nj i called a few and they all wanted around 350 for a non ulev JDM engine so i was like i will give this a try. hearing of all the horror stories i wanted to go to a reputable shop, i remembered that there is this shop that everyone goes to purchase their b16's and type r's so i figured they would have a nice f23.

i called and they said they had 40 f23's to pick from so i got a ride there and it was motor heaven. i picked a mint f23 they charged me 45 bucks to deliver it to my shop of choice the engine has as they claim 30,000 to 65,000 miles max.

knowing this i took it to my shop were i had a friend install it, i had some worries about it the guy gave it to me for 300 so i though it was slightly fishy. i wanted this engine to last so there were a few things i changed:

-the knock sensor was broken (the one on the old engine was broken too maybe thats why it broke?)
-new water pump
-new thermostat
-new belts