Go Back   6th Gen Accord DIY and Performance Forums > The Garage > Engine & Transmission Mods

Engine & Transmission Mods Swaps, Turbo, Nitrous, bolt-ons, it all goes here

Register to remove these ads


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #31  
Old 01-27-2010, 03:07 AM
Erik123456789's Avatar
Erik123456789 Erik123456789 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 7,649, Level: 26 Points: 7,649, Level: 26 Points: 7,649, Level: 26
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: So Cal
Age: 26
Posts: 1,434
Rep Power: 42
Erik123456789 is somewhat reliable
Re: H22 Swap

I'm a little confused on the whole slave cylinder thing..

I'm planning on putting the h-tranny onto my f23, is there an easier way to do that without the welding?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:11 AM
Drift's Avatar
Drift Drift is offline
Senior Member
Points: 17,803, Level: 40 Points: 17,803, Level: 40 Points: 17,803, Level: 40
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mass
Age: 35
Posts: 1,333
Rep Power: 81
Drift should be someone you can trustDrift should be someone you can trust
Re: H22 Swap

Originally Posted by Erik123456789 View Post
I'm a little confused on the whole slave cylinder thing..

I'm planning on putting the h-tranny onto my f23, is there an easier way to do that without the welding?
You might be able to make a bracket. Im not sure how other people approached that issue. I had two professional fabricators at my disposal, so thats how we set about solving that issue.

There are a few other h22 swaps on the board, I too, am now curios as to how they have their slave cylinder mounted.
__________________
~Nick

www.Dentsport.com
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 01-27-2010, 01:10 PM
Erik123456789's Avatar
Erik123456789 Erik123456789 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 7,649, Level: 26 Points: 7,649, Level: 26 Points: 7,649, Level: 26
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: So Cal
Age: 26
Posts: 1,434
Rep Power: 42
Erik123456789 is somewhat reliable
Re: H22 Swap

Originally Posted by Drift View Post
You might be able to make a bracket. Im not sure how other people approached that issue. I had two professional fabricators at my disposal, so thats how we set about solving that issue.

There are a few other h22 swaps on the board, I too, am now curios as to how they have their slave cylinder mounted.
Ohh, okay I see. Do you know if I can just avoid that by using the whole line from the prelude?? I think I have one of those lying around.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 01-27-2010, 01:20 PM
Drift's Avatar
Drift Drift is offline
Senior Member
Points: 17,803, Level: 40 Points: 17,803, Level: 40 Points: 17,803, Level: 40
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mass
Age: 35
Posts: 1,333
Rep Power: 81
Drift should be someone you can trustDrift should be someone you can trust
Re: H22 Swap

Originally Posted by Erik123456789 View Post
Ohh, okay I see. Do you know if I can just avoid that by using the whole line from the prelude?? I think I have one of those lying around.

You might be able to do that, but for some reason I recall the master cylinder on the lude being further away from the slave cylinder. So my thoughts are that the linemight not reach. But I cant confirm or deny that statement. Sorry.
__________________
~Nick

www.Dentsport.com
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 01-27-2010, 03:09 PM
CHID0's Avatar
CHID0 CHID0 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 22,577, Level: 46 Points: 22,577, Level: 46 Points: 22,577, Level: 46
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 3,143
Rep Power: 152
CHID0 has their shit togetherCHID0 has their shit togetherCHID0 has their shit togetherCHID0 has their shit togetherCHID0 has their shit togetherCHID0 has their shit together
Member Photo Albums
Send a message via AIM to CHID0 Send a message via MSN to CHID0 Send a message via Yahoo to CHID0
Re: H22 Swap

Thanks for going through the trouble to revive these posts....

Still owe you a visit for the suspension when i pick em up luckily the suspension has been holding up fairly well....
__________________
Officially Slammed Member #002
Retrofit Club #040
My Cardomain
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 01-27-2010, 07:38 PM
Drift's Avatar
Drift Drift is offline
Senior Member
Points: 17,803, Level: 40 Points: 17,803, Level: 40 Points: 17,803, Level: 40
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mass
Age: 35
Posts: 1,333
Rep Power: 81
Drift should be someone you can trustDrift should be someone you can trust
Re: H22 Swap

Originally Posted by CHID0 View Post
Thanks for going through the trouble to revive these posts....

Still owe you a visit for the suspension when i pick em up luckily the suspension has been holding up fairly well....

Let me know when you want to come in. Im still not sure how the hell Im going to get that bolt out, you may not want to watch how it gets done. . . .



On another note. . . .

I just installed some Skunk2 Pro series cams and threw it back up on the dyno for my buddy Matt to do some recalibration.



The blue is the Skunk2 cams, the green is the Type S cams.

For reference, a stock 08 STi makes about 198whp on our dyno. (Obviously the STi has a sh tload more torque.


I still have a 2" collector at the header, which is getting the oust this weekend. Im told that with a bigger collector he'll be able to pull out about 15 more whp.
__________________
~Nick

www.Dentsport.com
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 02-16-2010, 01:47 AM
cvjoint's Avatar
cvjoint cvjoint is offline
Senior Member
Points: 2,422, Level: 13 Points: 2,422, Level: 13 Points: 2,422, Level: 13
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: OC, So. Cal.
Posts: 285
Rep Power: 34
cvjoint is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: H22 Swap

Wow didn't realize you got cams in there now. Congrats!

I wasn't aware the Type S cams have so much kick in them. The Skunks seem to better them only after 6800 rpm or so. I was planning to go with the tuner series stage2 but now I don't know, I don't really want to rev it in that range that much anyhow. I finally went to 7800 rpm a couple of times the other day after a year of having the swap done. It's most definitely addicting but I'll try to resist it in hopes of keeping the H longer. How about the midrange, why is there no gain over the S cams? Isn't your idle higher somewhat now?

Your dyno sure is a hearbraker btw. I might try a roller dyno next to see just how much they can vary. I was told mine shouldn't put down less than 190whp on any dyno, but we'll see, I seriously doubt it now ha ha

In unrelated news...my powersteering pump is whining tremendously, I ordered a 95 ps pump from Majestic and that thing doesn't fit. Lesson learned: 4th generation PS is different that 5th Gen PS. There are two theories here, 1 my engine is 5th gen - seriously doubt it, 2. the swap shop used a PS pump from a 5th gen H22. Either way I hope Majestic replaces it for me.
__________________
2000 Deep Velvet Blue Accord Coupe EX
Emphasis: daily driver, entertainment and time attack
Highlights: H22, Carputer, GMR purpose built

Last edited by cvjoint; 02-16-2010 at 02:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 02-17-2010, 03:36 AM
Erik123456789's Avatar
Erik123456789 Erik123456789 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 7,649, Level: 26 Points: 7,649, Level: 26 Points: 7,649, Level: 26
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: So Cal
Age: 26
Posts: 1,434
Rep Power: 42
Erik123456789 is somewhat reliable
Re: H22 Swap

hey dude how much better r type s cams compared to the stock h22a4 ones? my bro has some and i might just trade him lol but is it worth it? or similar specs?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 02-17-2010, 10:12 PM
Drift's Avatar
Drift Drift is offline
Senior Member
Points: 17,803, Level: 40 Points: 17,803, Level: 40 Points: 17,803, Level: 40
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mass
Age: 35
Posts: 1,333
Rep Power: 81
Drift should be someone you can trustDrift should be someone you can trust
Re: H22 Swap

Originally Posted by cvjoint View Post
Wow didn't realize you got cams in there now. Congrats!

I wasn't aware the Type S cams have so much kick in them. The Skunks seem to better them only after 6800 rpm or so. I was planning to go with the tuner series stage2 but now I don't know, I don't really want to rev it in that range that much anyhow. I finally went to 7800 rpm a couple of times the other day after a year of having the swap done. It's most definitely addicting but I'll try to resist it in hopes of keeping the H longer. How about the midrange, why is there no gain over the S cams? Isn't your idle higher somewhat now?

Your dyno sure is a hearbraker btw. I might try a roller dyno next to see just how much they can vary. I was told mine shouldn't put down less than 190whp on any dyno, but we'll see, I seriously doubt it now ha ha

In unrelated news...my powersteering pump is whining tremendously, I ordered a 95 ps pump from Majestic and that thing doesn't fit. Lesson learned: 4th generation PS is different that 5th Gen PS. There are two theories here, 1 my engine is 5th gen - seriously doubt it, 2. the swap shop used a PS pump from a 5th gen H22. Either way I hope Majestic replaces it for me.
That graph was with a 2" collector. I have since changed my header collector to a 2.5" but I havent put the car back on the dyno. The small dip at 4100rpm is gone, and the torque should be well above the type s cams the rest of the way up the graph. That is speaking from the butt-dyno though, hopefully the real dyno can confirm that.

The low end torque is awesome though. It makes for such a great daily driver! I want to see 150ftlbs on our dyno though. Hopefully some cam gears can squeeze that out of those cams.

Originally Posted by Erik123456789 View Post
hey dude how much better r type s cams compared to the stock h22a4 ones? my bro has some and i might just trade him lol but is it worth it? or similar specs?
I never ran the a4 cams, so I cant comment on how they feel. But I can say that with a proper exhaust, you should be able to see 10-15ftlb of torque with the Type s cams. Maybe more with a tune, although I would never install something like that and not tuning for it after wards.


It takes like 3 hours to swap cams, just do it one day when he's at work.
__________________
~Nick

www.Dentsport.com
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 02-18-2010, 12:10 AM
Erik123456789's Avatar
Erik123456789 Erik123456789 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 7,649, Level: 26 Points: 7,649, Level: 26 Points: 7,649, Level: 26
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: So Cal
Age: 26
Posts: 1,434
Rep Power: 42
Erik123456789 is somewhat reliable
Re: H22 Swap

Originally Posted by Drift View Post
I never ran the a4 cams, so I cant comment on how they feel. But I can say that with a proper exhaust, you should be able to see 10-15ftlb of torque with the Type s cams. Maybe more with a tune, although I would never install something like that and not tuning for it after wards.


It takes like 3 hours to swap cams, just do it one day when he's at work.
Well the head is off right now so it will actually take me less than 5 minutes to do the trade, this is the same head that I will be using for the g23 conversion and if I have the opportunity to get some type s cams then I'm going to take advantage of it hehehe. And for the tuning.. I'll tune the car once my whole set up is complete and running.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


» Featured Ride
CHECK OUT THIS WEEK'S FEATURED RIDE!



Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3