making a toggle switch for a garmin gps??

YoungxNutkase

Reaction score
I got the garmin 205w recently during the black friday sale for half price. Im thinking about trying to fabricate my center console to fit the gps, right above the stereo. To do so I am going to have to relocate my climate control buttons. Basically Im making it into an indash. Now this is just a thought dont know if i will be going forward with it yet.

But i was wondering if its possible to make a toggle switch for it to turn on and off?? Theres a switch on the top of the gps for turning it on and the only wire that comes out of it is to connect it to the cigartte/12v outlet for power which I also want to get rid off ( i dont like wires showing). So do anyone know if its possible to make a toggle switch to turn it off and on and give it power?? Im still kinda new at eletronic stuff but i know good enough to do alot of my own work including indash navi, subs, amps and speakers.

brettg4215

Reaction score
i say take apart the cig lighter power adapter at the very end just to see if you could single out the negative and positive wires (i did on some little blue lights that i have) so you can hook it up directly to the power source
and it might not look great but i would probably just leave a place open that you could turn it on...on top of the gps...
or just make a tab that you could push to turn it on....

knifedag007

Reaction score
I have a garmin nuvi 200 and did this to mine about a year ago or so. Just yesterday did it to my girlfriends nuvi 205(she was tired of all the wires as well.)