How do I wire 2 channel to 4 channel?

Johnson

Reaction score
Hi I'm a noob in audio so please dont flame me. I have tried searching for this problem but I cant find the solution.

When I first got my audio every speaker worked (2 2 channel amps). One night only 1 of the speakers worked (rear right). I thought the problem was that the nobrand 2 channel amp broke so I replaced it with a 4 channel and the problem still exists. My question is how do I wire the rca cables? Thanks!

The 2 amps:
(2 channel connected to the subs)
101_0116.jpg

101_0118.jpg
101_0120.jpg

(4 channel connected to the speakers)
101_0125.jpg

The Wires (I think I need more? What kind of wires do I get?):
101_0126.jpg

finch13

Reaction score
Method 1:
Connect HU Front & Rear -> Speaker Amp Front & Rear IN
Connect Speaker Amp OUT -> Sub Amp IN
(Requires 2 cables and HU with 2 preouts OR HU with 1 pre-out -> splitter -> amp front and rear)

Method 2:
Connect HU Front Pre-Out -> Speaker Amp Front IN,
Connect HU Rear Pre-Out -> Speaker Amp Rear IN,
Connect HU Sub Pre-Out -> Sub Amp IN
(Requires 3 cables and HU with 3 pre-outs)

Johnson

Reaction score
Method 1:
Connect HU Front & Rear -> Speaker Amp Front & Rear IN
Connect Speaker Amp OUT -> Sub Amp IN
(Requires 2 cables and HU with 2 preouts OR HU with 1 pre-out -> splitter -> amp front and rear)

Method 2:
Connect HU Front Pre-Out -> Speaker Amp Front IN,
Connect HU Rear Pre-Out -> Speaker Amp Rear IN,
Connect HU Sub Pre-Out -> Sub Amp IN
(Requires 3 cables and HU with 3 pre-outs)

Thank you! What color goes where on the amp? Sorry for being such a noob but I have no clue at all! I just got a rca cable.

Last edited:

blacknight

Superman, uh mod
Reaction score
Or if you have RCA cables that are red/black connect the red to red and white to black.

Also as an option you can.

Connect HU front or rear output to the amps input
Connect the left channel of the amp to the front speakers
connect the right channel of the amp to the rear speakers