Tachometer problem

cumsies

Reaction score
so recently, while driving, I noticed that my tachometer doesn't go above 3000 rpms. when I accelerate, it gets stuck at around 2,600 - 2,900 ish. but I don't have any problem with accelerating at all. (?) when I'm sure I'm revving up around the 4,000 margin, I look at the tachometer and notice that it's still stuck around 2,900. I have no clue what's causing it. since I have very little experience with cars in general, I thought I'd come ask here.

uh, 99 accord lx sedan. automatic.

Last edited by a moderator:

Connie

Reaction score
so recently, while driving, I noticed that my tachometer doesn't go above 3000 rpms. when I accelerate, it gets stuck at around 2,600 - 2,900 ish. but I don't have any problem with accelerating at all. (?) when I'm sure I'm revving up around the 4,000 margin, I look at the tachometer and notice that it's still stuck around 2,900. I have no clue what's causing it. since I have very little experience with cars in general, I thought I'd come ask here.

uh, 99 accord lx sedan. automatic.

Try tapping on your cluster, sometimes that brings things back.

If the thing is running fine, it's most likely an issue with the cluster itself.
I have had several cluster issues with these cars over the years. Burned out bulbs, a speedo that only works sometimes, a fuel gauge that gets stuck at the top, odometers flaking out, warning lights burning out, and a tach that stays at zero all the time.

I have a good spare at the moment, but it reads 412000km and is for a V6 (tachometer will read 33.3% too low if hooked up to a 4 cylinder car). You are welcome to it if you like.

Usually a scrapyard cluster does the trick, but make sure you get it from a 30-day return policy place, because the used clusters are just as hit-or-miss.