Go Back   6th Gen Accord DIY and Performance Forums > The Garage > Engine & Transmission Mods

Engine & Transmission Mods Swaps, Turbo, Nitrous, bolt-ons, it all goes here

Register to remove these ads


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #11  
Old 05-18-2018, 12:14 PM
StomoHonda StomoHonda is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 14
Rep Power: 0
StomoHonda is an unknown quantity at this point
So its an ecu thing then? That is what I hoping it was not

So your saying engine swap? That is something I was going to do later. But about the ULEV, what can we do about that? Is it so much didifferent from the a1 that it can't be helped? , lets be hypothetical for a second, if I wanted to put turbo and headers knowingly the ULEV restricts air flow and the ecu is different from a1. What are the steps I need to do , in the proper order, to do that. Humor me please and thank you.

Would that cause my engine light to go on? Since my ecu is different from a1? I don't want to give up on my accord , i want this to work, like I said I don't care how fast that it becomes, I mean come on its a F23a4. Im doing this for practice so when I do swap it for another much better engine , ill know exactly what I want to do it and how to do it

Last edited by Sketch o5; 05-18-2018 at 12:39 PM. Reason: merged.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-18-2018, 12:46 PM
StomoHonda StomoHonda is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 14
Rep Power: 0
StomoHonda is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Engine Theory, Build, Etc Discussion.

I have F23a4, is it harder to work with ULEV? I want convert it to a1 (if that is even a thing) im sorely new to mechanics period . but I am excited to gain knowledge to build my accord coupe LX. I know nothing about forging pistons or anything of the sort. I am waiting for a new semester to start to get a machining degree just for car parts.(ill be thAT guy you know) But can I also forge on my F23 a4?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-18-2018, 12:47 PM
Enne's Avatar
Enne Enne is offline
Senior Member
Points: 3,251, Level: 16 Points: 3,251, Level: 16 Points: 3,251, Level: 16
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 146
Rep Power: 7
Enne is an unknown quantity at this point
Member Photo Albums
Re: F23a4

Originally Posted by StomoHonda View Post
But about the ULEV, what can we do about that? Is it so much didifferent from the a1 that it can't be helped?

lets be hypothetical for a second, if I wanted to put turbo and headers knowingly the ULEV restricts air flow and the ecu is different from a1. What are the steps I need to do , in the proper order, to do that.
Doing small bolt-on mods isn't going to prepare you to swap in a new engine.

The A4 only has a 2 horsepower difference from the A1. There's nothing to be "done" about it. Some things have different part numbers so you just have to make sure you buy the right parts.

If you want to actually make the car go faster you're going to need all new exhaust, new internal parts for the engine, and adding a turbo or whatever requires a shitload of other parts that also cost money.

That is if you really want to dump money into a car that wasn't made to be upgraded. Call parts stores/websites that carry such things and ask them what you need. Or take it to a shop. If you can't do it yourself, pay a shop to do it for you. Don't forget to have the car tuned, which is even more money, after you put all that stuff on to get maximum gains...

Or you could spend the same amount of money and buy like, a Camaro or Mustang that has more stock HP than an Accord with a ton of modifications. It's your money though, do what you want. Look at the other build threads on here, maybe that'll explain what you're getting into.
__________________
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by Enne; 05-18-2018 at 12:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-18-2018, 01:42 PM
BlkCurrantKord's Avatar
BlkCurrantKord BlkCurrantKord is offline
Senior Member


Points: 48,661, Level: 68 Points: 48,661, Level: 68 Points: 48,661, Level: 68
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ohio
Age: 35
Posts: 9,280
Rep Power: 121
BlkCurrantKord has their shit togetherBlkCurrantKord has their shit togetherBlkCurrantKord has their shit togetherBlkCurrantKord has their shit together
Send a message via AIM to BlkCurrantKord
Re: F23a4

Ok -

Swapping to an a1 will gain you nothing

Swapping to parts from an a1 will gain you nothing

You can do bolt ons like header, intake, exhaust, bored out throttle body (send to max bore.com) yourself. Those are all relatively easy things to do with basic hand tools and a weekend.
__________________
Originally Posted by LoveLee
I would love a mushroom stamp after I pass the CPA
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-19-2018, 10:33 AM
StomoHonda StomoHonda is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 14
Rep Power: 0
StomoHonda is an unknown quantity at this point
K20a swap

Ok I want to swAP my, f23a4 for the K20a FD2 in the future, is this easily,possible? I dont care about money nor time nor a response telling to get another car. I just want to know the straight up answer , in detail pleas thank you
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-19-2018, 10:49 AM
Sketch o5's Avatar
Sketch o5 Sketch o5 is offline
purp og


Points: 123,902, Level: 100 Points: 123,902, Level: 100 Points: 123,902, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: .
Posts: 22,423
Rep Power: 207
Sketch o5 is a name known to allSketch o5 is a name known to allSketch o5 is a name known to allSketch o5 is a name known to allSketch o5 is a name known to allSketch o5 is a name known to allSketch o5 is a name known to all
Member Photo Albums
Re: K20a swap

have yet to see a k anything in a 6th gen, but anything is possible with money and dedication.
__________________


1000RR

HID Kit Club #008 | DSLR Club #077 | G87P

FS: 98-00 OEM Sedan Tail Lights | shipping available

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-19-2018, 11:54 AM
datechboss101 datechboss101 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 3,389, Level: 16 Points: 3,389, Level: 16 Points: 3,389, Level: 16
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Orlando
Posts: 292
Rep Power: 9
datechboss101 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: K20a swap

Can't wait to see how you do this swap! I am also thinking about swapping my F23a1 and putting a K series motor in mine.
__________________
Lucky- 1999 Honda Accord LX 2.3L 4AT SSM- 120k miles
Godzilla- 2016 Nissan Rogue SL 2.5L CVT ABM- 58k miles
Lelu 2.0- 2017 Acura MDX Tech 3.5L 9AT BCP- 6k miles
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-19-2018, 12:32 PM
Nam1911a1's Avatar
Nam1911a1 Nam1911a1 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 3,909, Level: 18 Points: 3,909, Level: 18 Points: 3,909, Level: 18
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Southern Indiana
Age: 30
Posts: 399
Rep Power: 9
Nam1911a1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: K20a swap

Yeah put that Honda Civic motor in the accord. Why not go with the more powerful k24?
__________________
6th Gen Noob - Major tinkerer
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-19-2018, 12:43 PM
StomoHonda StomoHonda is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 14
Rep Power: 0
StomoHonda is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: K20a swap

I do want the k 24 as well , but has really no one put one in the accord is it cause its too much work or what?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-19-2018, 02:43 PM
capsidx's Avatar
capsidx capsidx is offline
Senior Member
Points: 5,469, Level: 21 Points: 5,469, Level: 21 Points: 5,469, Level: 21
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Florida
Posts: 447
Rep Power: 13
capsidx is somewhat reliable
Member Photo Albums
Re: K20a swap

The only thing that stops anyone is the mounts. They have to be custom made but if you can weld
Youíre solid. I know someone had the k24 in the cg engine bay but never finished. Wiring should be easy if you can read pinouts. Should be able to use a p28 or equivalent ecu with a base map.

Other than that I donít see what it wouldnít work. I went with an f20b over a k24 just for the price differences. Although Iím trading my cg for a dc2 integra, the k24 swap was my next project.
__________________
F20b powered CG6
Frankenstein's thread

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


» Featured Ride
CHECK OUT THIS WEEK'S FEATURED RIDE!



Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3