Newbie here

Rusty Accord

Reaction score
Just thought I'd introduce myself here. Sorry if this is long, but stuff happens. My name is Bob, and I own a "Rusty Accord".:) Well actually I've got 3 in the stable, but 1 is a 5th gen (97 LX w/5speed). Back in November of 2014 I bought my first Honda, and its a 2000 Accord LX AT 2.3L car. I bought it for my wife (she thought I bought it for myself, and was giving her my 92 Geo Prizm), and she's been very happy with it. Once we got the warning lights in the dash turned off (SRS and ABS), next up (about 4 months later) was replacing the water pump (started leaking out the weep hole). So in I go, but I bought an Aisin water pump kit from Rock Auto, that included timing and balance shaft belts, along with their respective tensioners and the pump. Now keep in mind I'd never done a timing belt on a Honda before, let alone any engine work on a Honda. I've rebuilt other engines, and changed timing belts before, (but that was quite a few years ago), and as a fabricator, rebuilt several rusty hulks over the years, but nothing on a Honda. For my first time, it took me 4.5 hours (spec sheet said it should take 3.75 hours), so I didn't feel too bad about being a little slow doing it all. I've also replaced the rear brake lines, and fuel lines, due to rust out (I live in the salt belt afterall). But since then, it's been a fairly maintenance free car to own. Last summer (2016) it got a cap and rotor, wires and plugs (NGK iridiums), as I didn't know how many miles were on them (same applied to the timing belts). We also took it to North Texas and back twice without any issues (running on the Interstate with the cruise set at 80, and the AC on). Or 2 trips of 2600 miles each. :)