Must get warranty?

DaCoupe

Reaction score
So I'm new to the Honda family and really like the 6th gen coupe. All I see are dire warnings about the time bomb that is the Honda tranny. It's not a question of "if" it will fail, but "when". However one is more likely to voice their opinion when something goes wrong than when it goes right. I imagine there are millions of these cars driving around with no problems at all. Are the tranny issues the result of a vocal minority or is it something I should truly be concerned about? If so, is it possible to get powertrain warranties on a car this old? I really dont want to buy into a car saving for an inevitable 2-4k repair bill every few years.

Rusty Accord

Reaction score
So I'm new to the Honda family and really like the 6th gen coupe. All I see are dire warnings about the time bomb that is the Honda tranny. It's not a question of "if" it will fail, but "when". However one is more likely to voice their opinion when something goes wrong than when it goes right. I imagine there are millions of these cars driving around with no problems at all. Are the tranny issues the result of a vocal minority or is it something I should truly be concerned about? If so, is it possible to get powertrain warranties on a car this old? I really dont want to buy into a car saving for an inevitable 2-4k repair bill every few years.