Go Back   6th Gen Accord DIY and Performance Forums > The Garage > Car Audio & Electronics

Register to remove these ads


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-22-2006, 06:27 PM
chrisman8995 chrisman8995 is offline
Junior Member
Points: 2,945, Level: 15 Points: 2,945, Level: 15 Points: 2,945, Level: 15
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Age: 32
Posts: 4
Rep Power: 0
chrisman8995 is an unknown quantity at this point
Car Alarm

Alright guys and girls, ive been surfing this site for a couple weeks and this is my first post. (quick catch up im usually on 7thgencivic.com but my gf just got a 6thgen accord"

ok well i fell into a couple audiovox alarms pretty cheap, both are brand new the model #'s are at home so i dont have them now, but the one for her car has a remote start on it (and her car is an automatic) i paid $75 for this thing and figured if cheap enough i would just have a shop install it, the cheapest ive found was $300. So I'm gonna bite the bullet and do it myself, but they are telling me that the accord has to have a box that is programmed like the key for the remote start to work. Ive but them in chevys and fords no problem. Just never heard of this before,

so does anyone have experience with this, and any other tips and hints will be appreciated.

Thanks
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2006, 06:56 PM
dynasty dynasty is offline
Senior Member
Points: 9,808, Level: 29 Points: 9,808, Level: 29 Points: 9,808, Level: 29
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Age: 30
Posts: 2,515
Rep Power: 53
dynasty is somewhat reliable
well, on my accord, it has a crimestopper alarm which i thought it was pretty good. but then, i lost my remote for it so i can't really find a replacement so i'll probably go for crimestopper again since it works pretty good.

about installation, i think it would be cheaper if you would go to Bestbuy and buy their alarm system. usually they will do installation for cheap. supposely, it's not really hard. it's just time consuming. for me, i got a friend who would do it for free but i have to be there to help him. LOL. but that's what i think you should do. good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2006, 08:25 PM
djpm05 djpm05 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 4,371, Level: 19 Points: 4,371, Level: 19 Points: 4,371, Level: 19
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 30
Posts: 139
Rep Power: 48
djpm05 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to djpm05 Send a message via MSN to djpm05
it is a transponder that you have to buy for the remote start to work. Honda put the "immobilizer" system into our honda's, and you have to put a space key inside of a box and hide it somewhere in the car. It's not hard to wire up at all, but for remote start to work, it's needed.

You can get them from anywhere that does alarms and it's the 555u, or something like that. I may be wrong, so check directed electronic's website to be sure.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-22-2006, 09:35 PM
Scott P Scott P is offline
Junior Member
Points: 2,924, Level: 15 Points: 2,924, Level: 15 Points: 2,924, Level: 15
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Age: 37
Posts: 10
Rep Power: 0
Scott P is an unknown quantity at this point
alrighty. First let me say i've been installing for the better part of the last decade professionally.

The price you have been quoted is by far and away price gouging. For an "own alarm/remote start) I would probably charge in the area of 175 maybe 200 with the immobilizer bypass.

You have to keep in mind that most anywhere you go,when you price an alarm the vast majority of the price is the labor. Now on a 6 gen accord it isn't exactly hard to do, but it still can be somewhat time consuming depending on the quality of the install. Case in point when I did my alarm, i took a full day (10 hours) but then again you won't find a single wire in the car, nor the sirens, the brain, or the antenna.

Anyway, long story short. you will need a bypass (DEI 556hw), and call a few other places, including whomever may be your local audivox delear and see if you can't find a better deal, unless you're itching to install it yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-22-2006, 09:43 PM
djpm05 djpm05 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 4,371, Level: 19 Points: 4,371, Level: 19 Points: 4,371, Level: 19
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 30
Posts: 139
Rep Power: 48
djpm05 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to djpm05 Send a message via MSN to djpm05
My shop charges that much:P


of course our shop has some crazy labor rate's too.:P
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-22-2006, 10:10 PM
blacknight's Avatar
blacknight blacknight is offline
Superman, uh mod


Points: 70,600, Level: 82 Points: 70,600, Level: 82 Points: 70,600, Level: 82
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 6,704
Rep Power: 96
blacknight should be someone you can trustblacknight should be someone you can trustblacknight should be someone you can trust
Send a message via AIM to blacknight
Originally Posted by djpm05
it is a transponder that you have to buy for the remote start to work. Honda put the "immobilizer" system into our honda's, and you have to put a space key inside of a box and hide it somewhere in the car. It's not hard to wire up at all, but for remote start to work, it's needed
Exactly.

But does you girl have an EX?
If she does, the factory alawn is good enough because it's linked to all the doors, hood and trunk. All you have to do is have a shock sensor connected to the factory alarn like I did.
__________________
380HP/415Ft. Lbs. Torq.
Yeah, It's got a HEMI
Yeah, its tuned by Predator
HID Kit Club #11
2008 Hayabusa (yeah, its fast)
Rest in Peace..THE BLACKNIGHT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2006, 10:41 PM
dynasty dynasty is offline
Senior Member
Points: 9,808, Level: 29 Points: 9,808, Level: 29 Points: 9,808, Level: 29
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Age: 30
Posts: 2,515
Rep Power: 53
dynasty is somewhat reliable
Originally Posted by blacknight
Exactly.

But does you girl have an EX?
If she does, the factory alawn is good enough because it's linked to all the doors, hood and trunk. All you have to do is have a shock sensor connected to the factory alarn like I did.
o0o0o! i didn't know about that. i have a EX-V6. what kind and where did you get your shock sensor at? i was planning to get a brand new alarm since i lost my remote. -_-

i also have another friend who would do 100 just for installation. but too bad no one lives in 'cheap gas Oklahoma'. =)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-22-2006, 10:55 PM
chrisman8995 chrisman8995 is offline
Junior Member
Points: 2,945, Level: 15 Points: 2,945, Level: 15 Points: 2,945, Level: 15
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Age: 32
Posts: 4
Rep Power: 0
chrisman8995 is an unknown quantity at this point
wow sites more active then i expected, thanks for the help

no its a 99 lx 4dr, ill search around on the net for the bypass then.

thanks again guys
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-22-2006, 11:02 PM
angelplus angelplus is offline
Senior Member
Points: 12,188, Level: 33 Points: 12,188, Level: 33 Points: 12,188, Level: 33
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ohio
Age: 28
Posts: 2,665
Rep Power: 59
angelplus is more helpful than most
Send a message via AIM to angelplus Send a message via MSN to angelplus
Compustar remotestart/security. Cant beat it Mine is sensative as ****, so I'm very satisfied. Got my kit for 179, then the bypass module, then 100 for installation. Though I got one hell of a deal, installation will probably cost about 200 where ever you go.
__________________
Retrofit club #001

My Local Dyno: Smokey's Dyno
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-23-2006, 12:46 AM
Sketch o5's Avatar
Sketch o5 Sketch o5 is offline
purp og


Points: 113,502, Level: 100 Points: 113,502, Level: 100 Points: 113,502, Level: 100
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: ( . )( ' )
Posts: 22,003
Rep Power: 201
Sketch o5 is a name known to allSketch o5 is a name known to allSketch o5 is a name known to allSketch o5 is a name known to allSketch o5 is a name known to allSketch o5 is a name known to allSketch o5 is a name known to all
Member Photo Albums
yea, youre getting raped on that install, unless that include the purchase of the allarm system? i bought my system for $200 of the net, and had it installed for $100.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


» Featured Ride
CHECK OUT THIS WEEK'S FEATURED RIDE!



Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3