Another New Guy from CT

jimralphy

Reaction score
So a little about me.

I am 35 and have 2 kids. I have been driving around the same 2003 Corolla S since 2003. That car has been rear-ended so many times it is starting to split in half at the rear doors, so it was time to get something different.

Looking around, I sort of ended up falling into this Accord. I couldn't pass it up, one owner bought new in 99. An older couple owned it and was kept most of its life in a garage. Tragically the driver of the car suffered from dementia, and hadn't driven it for 5 years (ish). I was happy to take this car that would last me another 5 years easy, for the low price of $1,500.

The car is a black Accord EX 4cyl with a 5sp. 177k Miles on it, all the maintenance records, grey interior. Car is great, runs well, no drops of oil, quiet down the highway. All it is missing is the 21st century amenities.
I'll add some pictures later (in 7 days)
IMG_5273_zpspz8m7vrd.jpg
IMG_5274_zpstz7zbair.jpg
IMG_5377_zps1i3yp5nh.jpg

Anyway, I added a new Pioneer HU with touch screen and blue tooth. Because it came with the capability, I installed a rear view camera too. New speakers to update the almost 20 year old stock ones, and a small D-class amp with a pair of cheap 8" subwoofers.
IMG_5270_zpsh2s0z7zf.jpg
IMG_5272_zps2ttxep6z.jpg
IMG_5276_zpspukaghkh.jpg
IMG_5305_zpsles4uf3k.jpg

I have been checking the fluids since it is a new to me car every gas up, which is around 350 miles. Only getting about 28ish mpgs is rough after driving the Corolla that got 36+ all the time. Everything is going great! Loving this car.

Enter mile 180,000... I go to do the 3K oil change and figure on switching over to synthetic. I crawl under the car, and within the last 200 miles, I seem to have developed an oil leak.