problem with sound system

BKLYN ACCORD

Reaction score
i had my system in the car for a while already. had my subs hitting hard. one day im bassing out and the subs stop hitting. i looked at the amp and the protection light was on. i took my amp to get fixed thinking i had to replace the fan. the guy replaced the fan and showed me it was working. i throw the amp back in my car and the damn protection light goes on again. i cant figure out whats wrong. checked all wires but still. i took the subs out the car thinking it was blown and took them to my house, but the subs work. im running out of ideas. its not like im a noob when it comes to systems. any ideas?

waccord99

Reaction score
maybe the amp cant handle the impendence of the subs....what are you running.....check grounds............make sure your connections are tight and arent shredding on the ends and hanging out the terminals

BKLYN ACCORD

Reaction score
maybe the amp cant handle the impendence of the subs....what are you running.....check grounds............make sure your connections are tight and arent shredding on the ends and hanging out the terminals

my amp is 1200 watts ive been using that amp on those subs for months before this problem happened. or maybe it can be my head unit not sure though

lashlee

Reaction score
It may be something as simple as a stray wire that is shorting the speaker terminals. It also could be that the voice coils have overheated over time and have slightly come unwound. When that happens, the wire drags on the motor structure and shorts out.

I would start by just hooking up one sub at a time to see if the problem persists. Then once you find out which one it is, check it's impedance throughout the stoke.

Wildman

Read the rules
Reaction score
i would guess the amp is either overheating - which could be from lack of clearance around the amp or running at a lower resistance than its rated for

or