low light shooting tip?

dynasty

Reaction score
i need some help taking pictures in some low lighting area. includes night time AND indoor. i'm a photographer for my youth group community and we do a lot of camping trips. i would like to take some pictures from the fire camp. what settings/mode would you put for dark area? i also have a flash which i just recently order some defuser for it. i also have a tripod but i wouldn't need it if i use my flash. other than that, any tips?

finch13

Reaction score
A tripod won't do sh!t for movement in low light, it's still going to blurry. Either bump up the ISO, use the largest possible aperture (smallest f/stop number) on your lens, or get a faster lens (bigger max. aperture). The on-camera flash should be fine for the pictures, if you bring the ISO up to 400 or 800, the fire may give off enough light where you can use a shutter speed higher than 1/60 and no flash at all.

Also, if you're using a zoom lens, try to get closer to the subject instead of zooming in on them. Unless you have a really expensive constant-aperture zoom, the more you increase the focal length (zoom) the lens has to use a smaller aperture, i.e. on my 28-300mm, at 28mm I can use f/3.5, but at 300mm I can only go as big as f/5.6, make sense?

dynasty

Reaction score
sweet. i also noticed when i actually up close to the subject rather than zoom, it's less blurry. i tried setting the ISO to 400 but it's dark. i'll keep practicing with taking random objects in my room and see how it goes. thanks.

question! is the zoom image stabilizer lenses work better than prime lenses or no? all my lenses is just EF mount. -_-

finch13

Reaction score