Guide Me!

d1blet

Reaction score
The photo noob here could really use some sound advice from you guys. I would like constructive comments and less nonsense. Please keep the information pertinent to the Nikon D60 and the Canon 450D and their respective support systems.

Here's the story (yes, I do have Cliffs on the bottom):

I've been dying to pick up a DSLR for the last couple of months now and have been slowly saving up for one. I'm looking at the 2 most popular introductory models, the Canon 450D and the Nikon D60. I've read reviews and have toyed around with both of them, and I still can't figure out which one I want.

Case for the D60
Because of who I'm employed by, I can get a Nikon D60 with kit 18-55 lens for about $530 brand new - directly from Nikon. I think that's a pretty good deal. That is the only thing that's really making me lean towards the Nikon. Granted, from what I've heard, the color rendition properties of the Nikon is supposedly superior compared to the 450D. It's Auto-ISO abilities is also much more intelligent and produces much better results. I think for landscapes (which I do plan on taking quite a few of), the Nikon with a good quality lens might produce more contrasty-pretty pictures than the Canon.

Case against the D60
I've had a Canon PS (SD750) for a while now, and I can easily just pick up one up and start snapping pictures with a 450D. The learning curve for the Nikon is going to be a bit steeper. My biggest problem with the D60 is the fact that it lacks this bracketing feature (in relation to shutter speed I'm assuming?) which makes taking HDR shots a bit more difficult. It also is lacking an ISO button. It seems like I have to go through a few seperate menus to actually change the white balance and the ISO, whereas on the Canon, there are seperate buttons for both, allowing me to quickly change without having to go through multiple menus and crap.

Case for the Canon 450D