Sick 98 F23a1 Help!!!

redcedarme

Reaction score
Ok, New here...

I purchased a '98 Accord LX 2.3 VTEC F23A1 5 speed about 6 months ago in Asheville, NC (I'm from Central NY) with 227k on it(now 235k). I was hesitant at first, but after looking for a week on vacation there at overpriced junk in the iwanna paper and at the little dealers, I found this gem in a gated community south of town complete with a stack of Honda receipts (Appletree Honda of Asheville) for every service since new. It drove like a dream and I bought it (for $3,750). The 500 or so miles home it averaged 40-ish MPG. I was thrilled.

I've been a mechanic for 12 years, recently giving it up for management in a NAPA store. I live 3 miles from where I work. I will say first off, that on longer trips (100 miles) it gets 32-34 MPG. I get 25 or so on my short commutes. I'm OK with that. I buy the same 87 octane at the same high volume Sunoco station everytime.

Problem: When I leave home in the morning and get out on the highway... 1,2,3,4,5th gear, temp gauge just coming up, back off the gas and she coughs. Hard. Running through town in 2nd or 3rd with the A/C on produces the same effect but not as violently.

I've changed plugs (Bosch P+4), Wires, Cap, Rotor, fuel filter and coolant temp sensor. I fed it a can of Seafoam fuel system cleaner straight in the intake. I emptied a can of 2+2 gum cutter on the butterfly with it running/revving. Nothing has changed.

In the stack of records I found that the dealer had installed new fuel injectors and manifold back exhuast due to "customer complains of stuttering and lack of power." That was about 60k ago. I've been under the hood enough and had it in the air to see for myself that these parts do appear new(er).