Go Back   6th Gen Accord DIY and Performance Forums > The Garage > DIY - Do It Yourself Forum

DIY - Do It Yourself Forum We have a lot of threads on how to do things yourself, from air intakes to suspension, brakes, even electronics. Please search first, if you can't find an article about what you're wanting to do just ask for help

Register to remove these ads

Old 04-09-2014, 04:46 PM
Points: 1,142, Level: 8 Points: 1,142, Level: 8 Points: 1,142, Level: 8
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

kthung is somewhat reliable
DIY Side Mirror Removal and Painting

The paint on my side mirrors was starting to chip so I wanted to paint over them. This is my first time doing any type of automotive painting so please don't be too harsh on the shoddiness of it.

Materials Used:
Philips screwdriver
Flat head screwdriver
10mm socket wrench
Sandpaper
Painter's tape
Dust mask (though an actual paint respirator/mask would be better)
Duplicolor Grey Filler/Primer
Duplicolor Heather Mist Mica
Duplicolor Clear Top Coat

Driver's side:

Passenger's side:

Start by removing the door latch. Remove the round plastic cover to expose the screw and unscrew. I haven't figured out how to remove the plastic covers without them snapping off. I think they're just old and brittle. Then slide the latch forward to pull it out.

Unplug the power lock cable.

To remove the door latch, swing the small plastic piece out and pull the metal bar up out of the hole.

Now remove the door handle. Flip up the black tab in the middle and remove the screw.

Pull up from the rear to pull it out of the slot. Remove the three cables for the windows and power mirrors.

To remove the door panel, use a flat head screwdriver to pop out the piece covering the mirror bolts. There are two clips.

Pop out this round thing.

Unclip the door panel on the left bottom and right side then pull the whole panel straight up. Twist the courtesy light bulb and pull out to completely remove the door panel.