[Updated 12/28] J32 Swap [Wiring]

Varnell

Reaction score
So I originally looked at hmotorsonline and they had one for sale for $3600. It included the motor, original type s transmission, mounts, sensors, ecu. I needed to make sure I had school paid for first, and they ended up selling it a few weeks ago to some guy in Mexico.

I recently found another one. I requested pictures of everything, including the wreckage. The car was hit in the fender.

Just wondering if there's anything in particular I need to look out for. The parts are coming from NY, so my first concern was rust. The guy I talked to said all but the right axle would be included. I'll post pics as soon as I receive them. I'm also having the parts delivered straight to my mechanic's shop as I've been talking about this swap with him for a few months.

image_2.png

image_3.png

IMG_5528.jpg

IMG_5529.jpg

IMG_5530.jpg

IMG_5531.jpg

IMG_5532.jpg

IMG_5533.jpg

IMG_5534.jpg

IMG_5535.jpg

IMG_5536.jpg

IMG_5537.jpg

IMG_5538.jpg

IMG_5539.jpg

IMG_5540.jpg

IMG_5541.jpg

IMG_5542.jpg

IMG_5543.jpg

IMG_5544.jpg

IMG_5545.jpg

IMG_5546.jpg

IMG_5547.jpg

Last edited:

xci.ed6

Reaction score
Re: Purchasing J32 Changeover

Drain trans oil, look for metal, including drain plug magnet (refill w/ Honda MTF!! NOT 10w30 or 80w90, er whatev, WHEN INSTALLED!!)

'wiggle' input shaft & axle (while installed), feel for bearing wear/slop

look for 'stains' due to leaks

surface rust on axles is fine, repaint, if you want.

That's what I got, consider it a '5min check-up'

Last edited:

Varnell

Reaction score

Definitely appreciated. He said the pics will be sent later today. It will come with a warranty and I'll comb it over as many times as I can before then.

Jordan_H

Reaction score

I'm not sure if you're purchasing an lsd transmission but if you pull the axle and look inside the diff you'll be able to tell. Just thought Id give a heads up. Congrats on the motor. I know you've wanted it for a long time haha