Tools

yellowfever

Reaction score
So i havnt had the accord long but ive been trying to maintain and upgrade it myself as much as possible, problem is that ive been getting discouraged. Everytime i take on a project I find i dont have the tools or the right tools for it. So I think maybe its time that i shift my funds, heres what i have, what i want, and what i think i need.

have:
Basic 60 peice ratchet set
Hydrolic Jack
Pliers
heavey duty metal snips
hex key set (standard and metric)
Ramps

want:
dremel
heatgun
soldering iron

need???
torque wrench
power drill

Could you guys lemme know if this stuff is needed, where a good place to get a deal is and most of all what im missing. :confused:

Last edited:

chomorro21

Reaction score
As far as what is missing i dont think you can really be prepared unless your a mechanic by profession. I have a ton of tools yet i am always heading to the shop to pick up an oddball peice. The one thing i dont have that i wish i could have is a air compressor with an impact gun, i recommend getting one of those :)

shavedaccord

Reaction score
Here's some more things you'll want/need to pick up..

Screw driver set - Just mentioned it since you didn't
Mechanic's Stesiscope - Great for locating knocks, ticks etc..
FT LB & IN LB Torque wrench - You'll need both for engine work
Magnet (telescoping) - Helps to grab bolts when they drop
Jack stands - DO NOT crawl under a car or support a car by the jack alone
Spark plug socket - They have a rubber insert, prevents the plugs from being broken
Liquid wrench or similar - Always a great thing to have around, never know when you'll get a rusted or seized bolt.
Feeler Gauges - Always good to have when it comes to things like valve clearance
Wrenches standard and metric - No doubt you WILL need these. Get a good set, especially metric 7mm-15mm you should be fine.
Tap & Die set - Never know when you'll need one, bolts/nuts/mounting holes DO strip on occasion
Rubber malet - Always handy