Removing the silicone from...

iheartmycg22

Reaction score
Hey guys! Noob here! hah... I just recently blackhoused my headlights today! :thumbsup: yay! but unfortunatly as I was prying the left headlight open.. some of the silicone stuck itself onto the front of the headlight... any suggestions on how to get it off? I tried a REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY wet hot rag.. but nope. I was thinking Goo Gone? Yes? No?... Regular "all purpose" degreaser apparently doesnt work.... So YEAH, I would appreciate any thoughts that would help! Pics will be posted up sooooooooooon!

01 Accord V6 Coupe
- AEM Short Ram Intake
- Konig 17'' Ultra Lightweight Hurry
- TEIN Super Steet Damperrrrrrrrr

ryan s

they dont think it
Reaction score
how did you open them? heatgun or oven? make it hot once more and it should come off. btw welcome :)

DarkElegance919

Reaction score
welcome! for me i used some of the silicone from the headlight and keep poking at it till it picks it all off. but after u used all of those techniques, iono if that would work anymore. haha good luck

nexTOme

Reaction score
im thinking of sanding them down when i get my hands on retro fit project....tired of looking at headlight which only proves that i am clumsy on diy job....haha

just got ebay version projector tho....just to hold me till retro fit is done....

iheartmycg22

Reaction score
ryan s said:
how did you open them? heatgun or oven? make it hot once more and it should come off. btw welcome :)

flathead screwdriver. oven. i had the headlight on a piece of cardboard and i was sitting "indian stlye" but uhhh... as i was prying the top side; the headlight slid and tipped over towards me(the front of the headlight facing me) and i suppose the silicone slid as well towards the front of the headlight. I tried reheating it and scratching it off with my finger, but its pretty much annoying and takes forever as trying to scratch off the adhesives after stickers are pulled. :beer:

ryan s

they dont think it