$830: Mechanic wants to do my distributor for $830!! ahhhh

frldyz

Reaction score
This is my 1st post.
I have a 98 accord 4 dr lx. w/ approx. 300k miles on it.
Recently been not starting. Its cranking over but not firing.

* The below number are either rounded up or down
Their prices:
Distributor $578
Labor $173
job supplies $40
Taxes $40

$830!!!!

Doesnt need new wires or plugs. And this does not include wires and plugs.

I'm no mechanic but I took shop 4 years back in HS. I have done some repairs on cars.

Isn't replacing the distributor easy and fast?
I watched a view videws on youtube.
1. unplug wires
2. unplug connection
3. remove bolts
4. pull off old distributor

5. put on new distributor
6. replace and tighten bolts
7. re-connect the connection
8 replace plug wires onto cap

Isnt that it?
$830 just seems crazy.
Im thinking just having towed home and doing here.

Whats everyone opinions.

phi1542

Reaction score
Yeah I just looked up a couple videos and that's all they do. Bu sure use some painters tape and mark the wires so they go into the right spot. No way a distributor cost over 500 almost 600 lol.... Go get an aftermarket one thats way cheaper. ebay has them for like 60 bucks and Rock Auto is a really good site for parts. They are playing you bro. That small of a job I dont see how it can cost 173 for labor..... You should be able to do it yourself since you have some experience! Video looks pretty straight forward haha $830 can buy you a lot of car parts dude

604ACCORD

Reaction score
173 for installing a distributor is a dead ****ing hustle!!! I would go back and rip them a new ***... Its a matter of disconnecting 4 plug wires and removing 3 damn bolts. Oh ya and a wiring harness lol

phi1542

Reaction score
^Exactly haha you should never ever go back to that shop ever again. They playing you bro

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G925A using Tapatalk

trillobite

Reaction score