'98-00 hazard switch vs. 2000-02 AC Temp Control & Swap

hainlinCar

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Posts
4
Reaction score
0
Location
US
So I had a failing A/C control and it was just unreliable in the South Florida swamping heat. So I found what I thought to be a 100% compatible control and vent console and bought it. Newer style clock and hazard switch which doesn't illuminnate. So everything works perfectly and installs in minutes.... Except for the hazard switch interface which is totally different!

Anyone know of an adaptor or wiring diagram in order to re-enable my hazard switch?
673526ea17aea60d887801638053c8b7.jpg
c04cd5a593e5777cd4978991a8ca7006.jpg
d5a106580916fcb901acf869b2e38c9e.jpg


Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
 

RedRyder

Save the manuals
Joined
Sep 5, 2008
Posts
19,514
Reaction score
116
Location
Fawking, OH
I swapped to an 01 auto climate control unit and bezel, and just kept my 99 hazard switch to keep everything working fine.
 

FNCONE

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Posts
364
Reaction score
14
Location
NYC
Do as Red said...
IIRC it should plug in but DO NOT USE IT, it can burn up your drivers side multiplex due to different wiring. ( I said IIRC because I might be thinking of the TL)
Please tell me you didn't try to turn it on and now your Dash Lights and hazards dont work...blown multiplex

let me know, can you take a picture of the connector showing the wires to confirm ( I have an 01)
the pin-outs are

98-00
1 Green / Red
2 Green / Blue
3 Green / Yellow
4
5 Green / White
6 Red / Black
7 Red
8
9 White / Green
10 Yellow / Red

01-02
1 Yellow / Red
2 Green / White
3 White / Green
4 Green / Red
5 Red
6 Red / Black
7 Green / Blue
8
9
10 Green / Yellow
 
Last edited:

hainlinCar

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Posts
4
Reaction score
0
Location
US
Wow! Too late I did that and now my dash lights don't work! Darn it!
c4f11346031b8d2be381b4ce01a5319b.jpg


Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
 

hainlinCar

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Posts
4
Reaction score
0
Location
US
Went ahead and replaced the multiplexer yesterday and just in time! We got a severe rainstorm and traffic kept me far from home until late, so having dash lights was not only a safety feature, but it gave me confidence as well.

I found a used one in Ebay and only paid $35 for it shipped to me. After an hour of being baked in the sun I was able to go on with my day and into the night.

Next question, now that I know for a fact I burned out my unit, what actually fried? I mean I took the thing apart and the capacitors on the enclosed board were fine, so could it be as simple as swapping out the Siemens fuse blocks to get one working again? Just asking for curiosity sake is all.
7f1285df93b374d119d3c64120b61304.jpg
4ec34c48532ce1ffffccd4386350433f.jpg
5f990bbba9e25628c71dc180e6c7753c.jpg
02985c19550152b08f3a4be0f13bdf91.jpg


Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
 

FNCONE

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Posts
364
Reaction score
14
Location
NYC
Hey, Sorry for the late reply. On mine it was a blown capacitor iirc. You can usually smell the burned one lol.
 

hainlinCar

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Posts
4
Reaction score
0
Location
US
I suppose mine failed with less visual evidence. Capacitors aren't even swollen. A learning experience for sure.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
 

Latest posts

Back
Top