Anyone using Android head units?

Discussion in 'Car Audio & Electronics' started by mossberg, Dec 14, 2018.

  1. mossberg

    mossberg Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    NC
    I've got the factory double din radio with 6-cd changer, and thinking about getting an Android double din head unit. I've been wanting to add a backup cam, and an Android head unit would be a slick way to have a screen for the cam instead of buying a dedicated camera screen that mounts to the windshield.

    [​IMG]

    Ebay is full of sub-$100 Android head units. Some even include a backup cam. Anyone have experience with Android head units? Are the cheap ones just garbage?

    Some newbish questions:
    1. Can the steering wheel controls on the 6GA connect to the Android head units that have a steering wheel control feature?
    2. Is the 6GA radio a standard size double din - i.e., will pretty much any Android double din fit?
    3. And would I just need something like this Metra dash kit? https://www.amazon.com/Metra-95-7895-Double-Installation-1998-2002/dp/B003D3NEH2
    4. And I guess I need some kind of connector adapter(s) with a connector to the factory connector(s) and a bunch of wires coming out to solder to the wires from the head unit's connector?

    Any particular models you'd recommend?
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2018
  2. jypatric

    jypatric Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Location:
    Ga
    Old thread but I'm curious if you had success upgrading your head unit.
     
  3. Matt Taylor

    Matt Taylor Active Member

    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Location:
    Colorado
    I recently installed one and I really like it

    1. It depends on the signal voltage that the steering wheel controls send out, but most likely it will work and if not, you can switch to aftermarket ones that have the correct voltage.

    2,3. Yes, the accord's radio is actually slightly bigger than the standard double din size, you need the Metra 95-7895 to enable the double din unit to seamlessly fit into the dash.

    4. Any adapter harness will work, I ordered 2 different metra ones with 2 different extra wires, both of which are not used. The 2 extra wires not used with these android head units and the CG chassis are a dimming wire and a power antenna wire, simply tape these wires off or eliminate them from the harness.
     
  4. Matt Taylor

    Matt Taylor Active Member

    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Location:
    Colorado
    A little update on the android. It seems to be having trouble upon startup on hot days. I assume the electronics might have a safety function to turn it off when too hot. When I get going, it works fine, dependably, for the entire drive, but it requires a restart button press once the car is warmed up.

    I have already installed a 12v CPU fan to try to pull heat away from the unit, with ineffective results. I turned the fan around today so that it is blowing air directly into the unit's heatsink-like back which is more effective, but still not enough...

    I am considering installing an on/off switch in line with the acc+ circuit to be able to turn it on a few minutes after startup.

    Then, possibly a little liquid cooling system for it, if necessary.

    It definitely requires further cooling capability in hotter climates. It isn't even extremely hot today either, the car is in the driveway at about 70 degrees Fahrenheit.
     
  5. cg4ever

    cg4ever Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    140
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Location:
    Europe
    Matt Taylor, what brand and model is your headunit ? I'm quite surprised to hear about those heating problems you have especially if it's one of those major brand name.
     
  6. Matt Taylor

    Matt Taylor Active Member

    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Location:
    Colorado
    It's a China one that I got on ebay, no name. It has a rather heavy duty back plate that feels like steel because of the weight of the unit, which could be the culprit. I'm assuming that overheating is the problem, but it could be that it doesn't like when I turn it on with the acc position of the key or even a combination of the 2. I think it's more the latter as it works great once I get going. I think that the switch idea is going to fix the issue. What happens is, when I turn the car on, the head unit turns on, but then when I start the car, it keeps wanting to reset itself thereafter for a short time, then it works great. I think that if I turn the head unit on with a switch after the car is started and my fan has been running on it, this will solve this minor issue as I think it needs that initial ventilation from heat built up in that area when the car sits in the sun. On a cool day, it works fine, no issues, whatsoever.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2019
  7. Matt Taylor

    Matt Taylor Active Member

    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Location:
    Colorado
    I installed the switch today and after waiting for the car to warm up, I turned on the switch for the head unit and it worked great for the entire time. I think that the combination of this switch and the fan are key elements to enable this particular head unit to work dependably.

    One thing that comes to mind for my future builds is a standalone monitor that I plug a raspberry pi into. This would enable the ability to datalog the wideband and exponentially increase the abilities of the stereo system. The drawback to this would be figuring out the proper DAC's to use and getting all of that to sync properly with the car speakers, whereas these android head units already have all of that figured out and work great. This would work best with an android head unit with an hdmi input that the raspberry pi could plug into, if that is available, I'm not sure.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2019
  8. Matt Taylor

    Matt Taylor Active Member

    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Location:
    Colorado
    I have now realized that I can use an hdmi to rca converter to plug the pi into the android head unit! This way, I will be able to use the pi together with the android head unit, because the head unit is only an rca monitor in its other modes. I will post more about if this works when I get a chance to install it.
     

Share This Page