Bought my manual swap parts today.

BlkCurrantKord

Super Moderator
Joined
Sep 7, 2005
Posts
9,870
Reaction score
85
Location
Ohio
Link please?
I read many DIY's and on the 5th gens you are supposed to modify the mount.
Or the engine will not sit level.
I assume this is not an issue on the 6th gens?


Yea...5thgens....6thgens...not really the same.

DIY Forum - we haz it.
 

low430

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Posts
246
Reaction score
5
Location
Portland
Motor is back in, I have some small stuff to figure out
Tranny mount bolt + nut
Clutch pedal upper bracket (fab)
Clutch Slave Boot and Rod along with slave bolts
OEM Thermostat
Shifter cable pins.


One issue I do have is that I busted up the TPS and MAp Connects on the IM
so I dont know which color connector goes to which sensor.
Can someone please snap a photo of their IM/ TB area so I can see which color wire goes to the TPS / MAP
I dont wanna hook them up wrong.
other than that I have it pretty much handled.
At least the install.

CIMG3159.jpg
 
Last edited:

accordlover

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Posts
49
Reaction score
0
Location
Austin Texas
EDIT - Ignore my post... should've read the whole thread.

While I haven't actually done this swap, I don't see why you wouldn't go ahead and change the rear engine mount and the transmission mount(s) with new parts. Also, wise choice to go ahead and change your CV axles now, since they will tear or fail internally at some point.

Good luck with your swap. I'm jealous!
 
Last edited:

low430

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Posts
246
Reaction score
5
Location
Portland
EDIT - Ignore my post... should've read the whole thread.

While I haven't actually done this swap, I don't see why you wouldn't go ahead and change the rear engine mount and the transmission mount(s) with new parts. Also, wise choice to go ahead and change your CV axles now, since they will tear or fail internally at some point.

Good luck with your swap. I'm jealous!

I changed the tranny mount, But the manual mount needs a longer bolt and a nut.
Seeing as Im almost a grand into the swap I dont feel like axles are that big of a deal. I just dont want to pull the motor, Axles are an hour job if need be.
And the rear engine mount works just fine, Everything fails in time, My axles will go another 30k
 

BlkCurrantKord

Super Moderator
Joined
Sep 7, 2005
Posts
9,870
Reaction score
85
Location
Ohio
Motor is back in, I have some small stuff to figure out
1 Tranny mount bolt + nut
Clutch pedal upper bracket (fab)
2 Clutch Slave Boot and Rod along with slave bolts
OEM Thermostat
3 Shifter cable pins.
4 color wire goes to the TPS / MAP

1 There isn't a nut for it, it's just a long bolt - $2.xx for a new one.
2 I'll take a picture of mine
3 They're pretty simple, just match the diameters and use new cotter pins
4 Blue - TPS, Gray - MAP



EDIT - Ignore my post... should've read the whole thread.

While I haven't actually done this swap, I don't see why you wouldn't go ahead and change the rear engine mount and the transmission mount(s) with new parts. Also, wise choice to go ahead and change your CV axles now, since they will tear or fail internally at some point.

Good luck with your swap. I'm jealous!

The auto rear mount works just fine, no need to change it. The only mount that needs changed is the trans side. The only axle that's different is the driver's side. Just like he said, everything fails eventually, no point in fixing things that arent broken.
 

low430

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Posts
246
Reaction score
5
Location
Portland
1 There isn't a nut for it, it's just a long bolt - $2.xx for a new one.
2 I'll take a picture of mine
3 They're pretty simple, just match the diameters and use new cotter pins
4 Blue - TPS, Gray - MAP





The auto rear mount works just fine....

Thank you SO much BlkCurrantKord

Is the MAP the one on the top?

CIMG3165.jpg



CIMG3164.jpg



The last question I have is this Power steering connector?


CIMG3175.jpg




And an alternate angle



CIMG3173.jpg



Tried to start it today with no luck,

On the tranny plug pigtail Wired the redblack to the light grey , No dice
Redblack to dark grey No luck
Redblack to dark and light gray = nothing
Im going to test my starter after christmas
 
Last edited:

low430

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Posts
246
Reaction score
5
Location
Portland
Tested the starter, it works, The car runs if I turn the key to ON and Jump the starter with a jumper cable.
So I think its a wiring issue for sure.
I got a slave cyl from napa with the plunger so Im going to iron out the last of the hard parts, Fill the system with coolant and hopefully someone has some wiring insight for me.

:bash:
 

BlkCurrantKord

Super Moderator
Joined
Sep 7, 2005
Posts
9,870
Reaction score
85
Location
Ohio
The sensor on top of the throttle body is the MAP, the one on the back is the TPS. Yes that green sensor is for the power steering.

Sorry, I've only done part of the wiring so far.
 

low430

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Posts
246
Reaction score
5
Location
Portland
The sensor on top of the throttle body is the MAP, the one on the back is the TPS. Yes that green sensor is for the power steering.

Sorry, I've only done part of the wiring so far.

where does the power steering connector go?
 
Back
Top