Complete DIY for vss after 5spd swap 1st post

9450erick

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Posts
1,000
Reaction score
6
Location
los angeles
Re: vss wiring after 5 spd swap( lots of pics)

No starter?
imobolizer.
drift does my drawing look right?
nd not a good idea to pust start the car with the immobolizer. my **** ran like ****. man i cant report back. first need to get my m.t ecu sorry guys. has anybody else tried to do this
 

Drift

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Posts
1,333
Reaction score
22
Location
Mass
Re: vss wiring after 5 spd swap( lots of pics)

imobolizer.
drift does my drawing look right?
nd not a good idea to pust start the car with the immobolizer. my **** ran like ****. man i cant report back. first need to get my m.t ecu sorry guys. has anybody else tried to do this

I'm not entirely sure I understand the picture acutally. Why is there an VSS input and a VSS pigtail.

You should the sensor itself, and 3 wires coming off of that. One goes to ground, one goes to 12v switch power, and the signal is split in two, one leading to the ecu and the other the cluster.

Running the car with an auto ecu will not work very well, if that's what you were trying to do. I think you may have found that out yourself.
 

9450erick

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Posts
1,000
Reaction score
6
Location
los angeles
Re: vss wiring after 5 spd swap( lots of pics)

these are the two wires that are the vss input. (blue green)
picture.php

i just cut the plug off and spliced the vss signal wire in. the green wire goes to ground and the blue wire goes to the ecu and splits to a9 (vss output)
is pin A9 going to the cluster?
running the auto computer is not that bad. running the m.t computer with the key immobolizer on sucks even more
so today i pushed started the car with the m.t computer. ran like s**t, i mean like nasty, just ate 10 day old pizza, s**t lol
nd the smell was horrible. smelled like a stink bomb went off in my exhaust pipe. scarred the crap out of me. thought i blew the motor
but i put the a.t computer back nd i worked fine after like 5 times of starting it nd turning it off.
 
Last edited:

F23A1AT

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Posts
2,328
Reaction score
16
Location
Gainesville, FL
Re: vss wiring after 5 spd swap( lots of pics)

I have a question about this swap. It is related to wiring, I have heard that this causes the gauge cluster to light up like a Christmas tree. Is that true or was that because someone did it wrong?

OH yeah and something else I remembered Matt (Badger) only mentioned two wires off of the big trans plug, is it the two wires or is it these three that BLKCurrant/Turbowa posted?
 
Last edited:

9450erick

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Posts
1,000
Reaction score
6
Location
los angeles
Re: vss wiring after 5 spd swap( lots of pics)

I have a question about this swap. It is related to wiring, I have heard that this causes the gauge cluster to light up like a Christmas tree. Is that true or was that because someone did it wrong?

OH yeah and something else I remembered Matt (Badger) only mentioned two wires off of the big trans plug, is it the two wires or is it these three that BLKCurrant/Turbowa posted?

it does light up like a christmas tree @ first. the lights your gonna see are the srs light(air bag), abs(anti lock braking system), and ur check engine light.
oh and ur D4 will start flashing which i can is pretty cool.
well my abs turned off all by itself, not instantley but i did turn off. i had to reset the srs system to take off that light, nd theres a diy on this website on how to do that. now all i have lighting up on the cluster is check engine light(caused by im still on the auto computer) and the D4 flashing

as for the tranny plug i only have 2 wires connected the grey nd red/white
picture.php

dont know what the black one is for in Turbowa write up car runs fine
hope that helped
 

F23A1AT

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Posts
2,328
Reaction score
16
Location
Gainesville, FL
Re: vss wiring after 5 spd swap( lots of pics)

:dunce: forgot to come back and check for my answer, yeah that helps me out a lot. This way when I go to do all of this I know exactly what I need to do.
 

low430

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Posts
246
Reaction score
5
Location
Portland
Re: vss wiring after 5 spd swap( lots of pics)

So Im trying to figure out which wiring process I need to follow.
If I have a manual ECU should I try and take it to the dealer and get it keyed and started or should I wire up the Speedo first?
Im trying to do things the right way So I dont want to go splicing wires trying to get my car working with vtec and speedo on the auto ECU when i need to get it running on the manual ecu.
As of right now the car starts and runs with CEL and no speedo. All I did was wire the auto tranny plug up to be in neutral all the time.
So I have 5 wires total, 3 for teh VSS and 2 for the reverse switch, I can just run fresh wires or I can try and splice in to factory wires.
The only issue being I dont want to eliminate AC as TURBOWA did in his writeup.

Thanks so much for any advice.
 

9450erick

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Posts
1,000
Reaction score
6
Location
los angeles
Re: vss wiring after 5 spd swap( lots of pics)

yes u do need the manual ecu to get the speedo working
the auto had 2 signal wires nd the manual has only 1.
i didnt even bother with dealer. start calling locksmiths. thats wat i did nd i got it for half the price nd half the hassle
im going to take my car to my autoshop class nd ask my teacher how to do it since i hae wiring diagrams but dont understand them
 

low430

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Posts
246
Reaction score
5
Location
Portland
Re: vss wiring after 5 spd swap( lots of pics)

yes u do need the manual ecu to get the speedo working
the auto had 2 signal wires nd the manual has only 1.
i didnt even bother with dealer. start calling locksmiths. thats wat i did nd i got it for half the price nd half the hassle
im going to take my car to my autoshop class nd ask my teacher how to do it since i hae wiring diagrams but dont understand them

Okay so Im about to call a locksmith to have a new key programmed, Then Im only worried about the Clutch start cancel? Does the manual ecu start without the signal for the clutch being depressed? or does it default to start and only start when there is a signal?
And to get the vtec working all I need is the VSS wires connected at the ECU and one or two in the gauge cluster.

Also some repining of connectors @ the ECU.

I have done the entire swap by myself and I'm going to complete it soon I just want to know exactly what I need to do so I don't screw it up. Turbowa's Guide really helped me but it gets **** confusing when it comes to wiring.
I greatly appreciate any help.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top