Going for a re-tune.... (Round #2) Updated 10/28/13

Discussion in 'Engine & Transmission Mods' started by hotaccord243, Nov 8, 2010.

  1. hotaccord243

    hotaccord243 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    SW suburbs, MN
    Re: Going for a re-tune....

    Thanks! I was so relieved... thanks for the help btw!

    Why you having some problems with your motor?


    BTW, got my head, IM gasket, and IM attached, IC piping back on and hoses/clips attached all tonight. Torqued per manufacture specs on the head, set the head and bottom end to TDC. Sorry for the crappy pic, took on my blackberry...
    [​IMG]

    Tomorrow I should be picking up the Crank pulley holder tool from AutoZone (had to order) and get back to work tomorrow or Wed. to disassemble the timing belt cover and make sure everything is at top dead center and re-attach the belt. Also check valve clearances, install turbo, fill it up with coolant and bleed, and fill oil and turn it over finally.... Also hope to sweet lord that there are no exhaust/oil/coolant leaks... ugh.
     
  2. x5carl3tMurd3rx

    x5carl3tMurd3rx Well-Known Member

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    LO.CO. va
    Re: Going for a re-tune....

    glad to see your making good progress. hopefully now you've got all the stupid little **** fixed and can finally get that re-tune. :badger:
     
  3. hotaccord243

    hotaccord243 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    SW suburbs, MN
    Re: Going for a re-tune....

    Thanks! Me too... had to take a break from working today, but I did pick up the crank pulley tool today. Will be able to fix timing, adjust valves, and re-assemble the rest of the motor/turbo parts.

    If I have time, i'll clean out the egr (since I had to buy both the plenum and the manifold gasket as a kit), vtec screen, and IACV while i'm at it....
     
  4. x5carl3tMurd3rx

    x5carl3tMurd3rx Well-Known Member

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    LO.CO. va
    Re: Going for a re-tune....

    sounds good man!
     
  5. LX_F23A1

    LX_F23A1 Well-Known Member

    Age:
    26
    Posts:
    1,504
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    Re: Going for a re-tune....

    [threadjack]

    im not running a turbo, just basic bolt ons, can i do a e-85 tune? will it do anything performance wise?

    [/threadjack]
     
  6. hotaccord243

    hotaccord243 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    SW suburbs, MN
    Re: Going for a re-tune....

    Well took a impact wrench to the crank pulley nut, and could not get it off after trying for a good hour. I have too small of a compressor. Can't provide enough torque for long enough to get it off. So I bought a hand impact driver by craftsman and going to try that tomorrow...

    In simple terms. No and no. No gains, no way of tuning the fuel map, or no fuel system/injectors to support the extra fuel needed to compensate for the required a/f ratio.
     
  7. LX_F23A1

    LX_F23A1 Well-Known Member

    Age:
    26
    Posts:
    1,504
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    Re: Going for a re-tune....

    thanks bud!
     
  8. Erik123456789

    Erik123456789 Well-Known Member

    Age:
    27
    Posts:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    So Cal
    Re: Going for a re-tune....

    what happened to the breaker bar with the 3 foot cheater bar trick??? :p lol
     
  9. hotaccord243

    hotaccord243 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    SW suburbs, MN
    Re: Going for a re-tune....

    I tried that. I tried even standing on it and using all 200 pounds of me to break it loose. (yes, the car was on jackstands). I tried that for about an hour. And I also tried 175psi of a 20gal air compressor for an hour. This was all with the crank pulley holder tool too..... WTF?

    SO i'll try a impact driver and see if that instant blow of torque can get it loose. If not i guess i could try heating it just a bit....
     
  10. BadgerType

    BadgerType Resident ***hole

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Location:
    SW FLA
    Re: Going for a re-tune....

    thats why i always go to a local shop and have them hit it with a 1/2" impact to loosen it, then i limp home


    1000000000000000 times easier
     

Share This Page