How To: H23A/H22/F20B Temperature Gauge for 2000-2002 models

Discussion in 'Engine & Transmission Mods' started by bavarianblessed, Aug 11, 2019.

  1. bavarianblessed

    bavarianblessed Active Member

    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Location:
    Chattanooga
    This seems to be a commonly asked question so I thought I would write up what I've learned

    The 00'-02' model F23A Accords use a different circuit and gauge type for the temperature gauge in the cluster. For whatever reason, Honda decided that the ECU should be responsible for driving the temp gauge with a digital signal instead of the previous and much simpler method of a direct connection to the single-pin thermo sensor (part 37750-PH2-014) mounted to the side of the head. The 00'-02' model F23's have a bolt in this spot to seal the hole instead. If you are swapping in an F20B or H motor you'll need to work around this change if you want to use stock temp gauge.

    **You will need to get a 98' or 99' gauge cluster**
    I pulled one at my local LKQ for $30​

    This is my setup:
    • 02' Accord SE Auto - F23A1
    • 01' PDE H23A with MCJA tranny
    • PCF ECU - OBD2b using the original F23A1 harness
    So I'm swapping in a complete SiR Wagon (2WD) drive train and staying OBD2b for emissions compliance.


    The F23A1 uses a VTEC pressure signal switch located next to the VTEC solenoid and the 2-pin water temp sensor on the side of the head here
    [​IMG]


    Since the H23A doesn't use a pressure switch this plug isn't used and since it's also located right next to the thermo sensor I clipped the connector off. You have a Blue/Blk and Brown/Blk wire there now, tape off the Brown/Blk wire, it's the sensor ground signal and not needed. The Blue/Blk wire is then soldered to the thermo sensor connector from the hacked H23 harness I got with my swap.
    [​IMG]


    Once that was done I moved inside the car to finish the connection.
    On the C connector at the ECU I de-pinned C10 and C24

    C10 is the other end of that VTEC pressure switch that now has the thermo sensor connector on it
    C24 is the coolant temp signal output from the original PAA ECU
    [​IMG]

    Neither pin is used by the PCF ECU I'm installing and C24 will only have a wire in place on the 00'-02' models.
    Once they are de-pinned clip the connector off each wire and strip the ends to twist and solder together
    [​IMG]

    The other end of that Yellow/Grn wire from C24 connects directly to the gauge cluster on the cluster harness at pin C2
    [​IMG]

    Once completed you will have a direct connection from the thermo sensor to your 98' or 99' gauge cluster. As long as you properly solder (and strain relief) or crimp your connections the circuit impedance will be negligible and shouldn't affect your temp readings at the gauge. I measured resistance between the thermo connector under the hood and C2 at the gauge harness and got this
    [​IMG]


    This is what I did to make it work and the info for the wiring and gauge cluster differences was obtained from a few different posts here and from studying the Helms manual so I'm not an expert. If anyone has questions though ask away, I'll try to help :beer:



     
    Mark2001Accord likes this.
  2. Mark2001Accord

    Mark2001Accord Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Thank you. The pictures are not loading. It looks like I need the 99 cluster for my 01.
     
  3. bavarianblessed

    bavarianblessed Active Member

    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Location:
    Chattanooga
    Yeah I just saw that but I'll be damned if I can figure out how to edit my post to fix them. Here is the shared album with the pics in it, hopefully that works https://photos.app.goo.gl/sZQzascCZ1oEmBC67
     
  4. Mark2001Accord

    Mark2001Accord Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Is it possible then to reuse the existing wire in 00-02 models? Because it is there in the connector?
     
  5. bavarianblessed

    bavarianblessed Active Member

    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Location:
    Chattanooga
    Yep, that's exactly what I did. The pics are showing for me on my phone so here is a screen shot Screenshot_20191015-131815.png
     
  6. Mark2001Accord

    Mark2001Accord Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    They work now.

    Will replacing the cluster effect the immobilizer? The cluster displays the source mileage from the ECU, not the cluster, correct? I think that the odometer has to do with the immobilizer system and security, perhaps not. I cannot recall. Its been a while.
     
  7. bavarianblessed

    bavarianblessed Active Member

    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Location:
    Chattanooga
    No it won't mess with the immobilizer. The mileage and trip data are stored on a little pdip-8 eeprom chip on the cluster PCB. You can swap that chip to your new cluster to keep the mileage info with the car. I'll post some pics in a bit
     
    Mark2001Accord likes this.

Share This Page