running a p28 chipped and socketed ecu in a 00 accord

Discussion in 'Engine & Transmission Mods' started by Thecuban17, Jan 3, 2020.

  1. Thecuban17

    Thecuban17 New Member

    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Location:
    Portsmouth VA
    Need help. So I installed dsm injectors with resistor box, wide band and oil pressure gauge, p28 0bd1 ecu with 0bd2b to 0bd1 jumper harness. Car starts but tachometer, coolant temp gauge do not work. When the IAC is plugged in car revs super high. When unplugged it's high but not as severe. (Ecu is chipped and socketed was in process of tuning but sounds like vacuum leak). Any help would be great. Also wide band and oil pressure gauges work.
     
  2. HEADACHE CG6

    HEADACHE CG6 Member

    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Location:
    NORTH CAROLINA
    you need an aftermarket temp sensor of find the thread on swapping clusters and repinning
     
  3. BlkCurrantKord

    BlkCurrantKord Super Moderator

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    9,526
    Likes Received:
    50
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Location:
    Ohio
  4. Mark2001Accord

    Mark2001Accord Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Is this a true copied post about 2 wire to 3 wire IACV?

    "

    People on the internet including some big name companies say you have to repin this and swap manifolds to use a 2 wire iacv. This is FALSE. You can run a 3 wire obd2 iacv with an obd1 ecu. I am currently using a p28 obd1 ecu with an obd2 F20b and my drivability issues went away as soon as I connected this.

    The process is so painstakingly obvious I can’t believe I didn’t realize this before. I have actually facepalmed myself for not taking an analytical look at this before. So here goes.

    Basically you find whatever pin your ecu has for iacv and connect that to the black and blue wire on your 3 wire obd2 iacv pigtail. Then you connect the black and yellow wire on the pigtail to any other 12 volt black and yellow wire you can get your hands on. Then you just take the black wire on the pigtail and ground it. That’s it. That’s all there is to it. So to reiterate for anyone who cares

    Ecu/chassis side. Iacv pigtail side
    ————————- ———————

    iacv pin —————> black and blue on pigtail
    Blk/ylw 12 v wire—> blk/ylw on iacv plug
    Ground wire———> blk wire on pigtail."

    Cannot remember what thread it was in. Is it true?
     
    BlkCurrantKord likes this.
  5. Mark2001Accord

    Mark2001Accord Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    You liked it, but does that actually work? These clips are from other threads around the net. Like 50/50 some say you can now.

    40641490BNh.jpg

    My thoughts were perhaps, there was NEW a pluggin for crome or update for hondata , that allows 3+ wire IACV's.

    In the Accord, I used a 3 to 2 wire adapter because the Hondata does NOT control the 3 wire. The control signal is different. However a Pluggin or software update could change that . Remember Megasquirt? Megasquirt you could select the # of wires for the IacV and their operation. Was just software.

    It IS possible to wire a 3 wire into a 2 wire harness. That is not going to solve the issue with the stock 28P ECU.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2020

Share This Page