sub+amp help

phi1542

Reaction score
hi im new to this whole audio thing and i need help. i saw these pioneers for sale for $40 and they seemed pretty good for the price but im not sure what amp to match it up with. btw im only buying 1 sub. these are the subs and amp:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Pioneer...ofer/5700917.p?id=1218682375383&skuId=5700917

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_14637_Power-Acoustik-BAMF-1250-2-BAMF1250-2.html

any suggestions, comments, help pleaseeee. oh yea what kind of enclosure should i get for it too? sealed, ported/vent, or bandpass

Brimstone Brown

Reaction score
It really all depends on what you want your system to be able to do. I'm in the process of upgrading my stock sound also. What is currently in your car?

Valet

IS300 SX > Accord
Reaction score
Although I can not agree with their quality I will go along with it.

Basically what you have there is a 12" sub with two voice coils that run a 2 ohms. The sub will run 400 watts rms (normal operating) at 2 ohms.

The amp is a two channel which is for powering two subs or two speakers. Since you have one you will need to bride the amp. This will however only allow you to run the amp stably at 4 ohms. The plus however is that bridged it will put out 560 watts rms.

I would suggest getting a different amp, preferably a mono amp (single channel).

For a box, I would recommend a ported box with at least 1.5 cubic feet. This is a good candidate here.

Assuming you keep the equipment you plan on, this is how you will wire it.

First, wire the amp to the car (power to battery, ground to solid ground, remote turn on, RCA's from headunit). Next, to wire the amp to one channel or bridge the amp, you will run the positive from once channel and the negative from the other. If you are facing the terminals on the amp, there will be 4. From left to right we'll number them 1 2 3 4. So you would run 1 as the positive to sub, and the 4 to the subs negative.