V6 Alternator Upgrade DIY W/ pics

Discussion in 'DIY - Do It Yourself Forum' started by nixed007, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. bavarianblessed

    bavarianblessed Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Location:
    Chattanooga
    It's not as straightforward as I had hoped :doh:


    The mounts are very similar in size and location but not exactly the same.

    I was able to use M10 fender washers on the top mount and it'll work fine that way.
    Two washers on each side of the alternator space it perfectly so the pulley lines up with everything else on the belt

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The bottom slider bracket is where I've hit a snag. The alternator mount had to be trimmed so it would line up with the bracket but the alternators mount point isn't long enough to use the slot in it. That and the radius is all wrong

    Before trimming the bottom mount
    [​IMG]

    And after
    [​IMG]

    And the reason I'm not done yet :banghead:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    If I had the metal fab tools to do it I could have made a new slider bracket but since I don't I'll have to find someone to make it for me.

    Does anyone have any ideas on how to do this other than having something fabbed?
     
  2. bavarianblessed

    bavarianblessed Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Location:
    Chattanooga
    Update for anyone interested. This forum is pretty dead :tumbleweed:

    I was able to work out a bracket extension that allows this to work.



    I had to cut the bottom mount of the alternator at the weld seem. This allowed enough clearance between the bottom bracket and the bolt head I used to hold the extension in place. I also had to trim about .25" off the bracket itself to allow the alternator housing to fit a little more than it should otherwise.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    The alternator housing doesn't rest against the bracket at it's lowest point as the stock unit would so the stock belt most likely isn't long enough to fit it.

    The stock belt is 43.6" long so I've ordered 44.5" and 45.5" 6-rib belts. As soon as they get here I'll throw it in and post another update
     
  3. bavarianblessed

    bavarianblessed Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Location:
    Chattanooga
    Got it installed tonight. Ended up needing the 44.5" belt, fit perfectly.

    So far, the car idles at a solid 800 RPM no matter what's running! A/C doesn't even cause a blip when it turns on now, I can idle and the car will cool itself now :)
    I ended up having to move one of the washers on the top bolt to the left side of the alternator mount. The pulley was just a hair off with 2 on each side.

    Pretty happy with the results, we'll see how well it holds up

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2018
  4. Eclipse99fwb

    Eclipse99fwb Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Location:
    Aurora CO
    Nice thanks for the update! This will be a great update for those of us with the f23. Thank you for taking the risk to try it.:waytogo:
     
  5. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Location:
    so cali, 909
    The images can't be seen on the update
     
  6. bavarianblessed

    bavarianblessed Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Location:
    Chattanooga
    No problem, glad to share the info :)
    It does require a little bit of modification but it's well worth it IMO.


    Really? They are in the same shared album as the rest of the pics. Can anyone else not see the update post pics?
     
  7. Eclipse99fwb

    Eclipse99fwb Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Location:
    Aurora CO
    The pics from the 5-2 post show up fine but not the 5-4 post.
     
  8. bavarianblessed

    bavarianblessed Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Location:
    Chattanooga
    Okay I updated the links, let me know if you can't see them still
     
  9. Nam1911a1

    Nam1911a1 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    427
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    Nice work. Are the plugs the same?
     
  10. bavarianblessed

    bavarianblessed Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Location:
    Chattanooga
    Yes sir although the 4-pin harness plug is rotated clockwise 90 degrees.
    When I ditched the stock 6-8awg wire (it's something between the two) I pulled some slack out of the harness to give me a little more reach. Wrapped it up with the new 2awg wire in loom and tesa tape to finish. I freakin love tesa tape lol, looks better than stock
     

Share This Page