engine overheat. effects on engine and performance?

Bullet99

Reaction score
need your help guys! my car overheated, found out that the radiator gave up and had a crack about 5inches at the top portion. i replaced the radiator, no temperature problems since then.

Since i have little knowledge on cars, and considering myself as a newbie, appreciate if you can advise me what other effects overheating may have done on my engine? i just noticed that there is a power struggle since then. before, i experience an increased power at around 2,5-3k rpm. was my engine or vtec engagement affected because of this?

appreciate your input! thanks!

eolife22

Reaction score
depends,were u driving the car after u found out it was over heating or did u immediately park the car up ?

Akingkhan

Reaction score
If ur car overheated you might have damaged several internal parts.
Rings, cylinder walls, head gasket, the head, water pump, & even the block
What's the car doing now ie. smoking, burning oil, oil lookin like spoiled milk, u said it feels weaker. So I would check the car more often for any of those things
Also start thinking about a rebuild, swap, or another vehicle
Good luck

Bullet99

Reaction score
If ur car overheated you might have damaged several internal parts.
Rings, cylinder walls, head gasket, the head, water pump, & even the block
What's the car doing now ie. smoking, burning oil, oil lookin like spoiled milk, u said it feels weaker. So I would check the car more often for any of those things
Also start thinking about a rebuild, swap, or another vehicle
Good luck

the smoke seems normal, are you talking about excessive smoking on the exhaust? i will check the oil. it didnt actually overheated while running, i just noticed that the temperature was going up, i went as high as the top line, but didnt really smoke while driving, i immediately parked it and let it cool off.. your thoughts?
also, i think the gas consumption is a bit excessive now, is it because of this?