Help! Clutch may be toast

fallout09890

Reaction score
Being a new manual driver, I was trying to practice uphill starts last friday. My dad told me that stalling the car would ruinin your axles, so when I was practicing on the hill, I over revved the car, and I think I overheated my clutch. I did about 4000-4500RPMS while letting the clutch slip for about 30-40 sec then all of a sudden I started smelling a burning smell inside the cabin. Then I realized that I made a stupid mistake and it came to my mind that I can ruin the clutch by doing that. The clutch didnt show signs of slipping on the way home though and no smoke came out when it overheated. Its been sitting on the driveway for the past 2 days and if you sniff around the hood you can still smell it, but ONLY if you sniff near the clutch/flywheel area. Do y'all think that I may have ruined my clutch even though it doesent show signs of slipping or did I do some damage but not enough to call for a new clutch. I have also been searching for a write up on how to change a clutch on here but I cant find one. Do you have to drop the whole tranny or just slide it away from the motor, and would changing the MTF in this case help (like in autotragics) or is it a totally different lubrication system and not connected to the clutch??

tunerbum147

Reaction score
you will get that smell when you ride your clutch a lot especially let it spin that high for that long on it. its most likely not ruined but defiantly is not good for it.

hint if you are on a real steap hill use the e brake so you can let out clutch as you let out ebrake too. you wont have to sit on the clutch like that then.

fallout09890

Reaction score
you will get that smell when you ride your clutch a lot especially let it spin that high for that long on it. its most likely not ruined but defiantly is not good for it.