I did another HillClimb **PICS and VIDS**

Drift

Reaction score
After having done my first hillclimb about a month ago I was hooked. Last weekend I continued chasing the dragon and went back up to Vermont, this time at the Okemo Ski Resort. I have been attending this particular event for almost ten years, but had never participated, until last weekend.

Saturday was kind of a wash out as it rained all morning and they couldn't really find enough people to work the mountain and cover every check point. So the organizer had a great idea of running "Fam" runs (familiarization runs) in groups of about 8 cars all day. We usually run these fam runs at the start of each day, in kind of a parade format. All the cars line up and drive up the mountain together, its slower than race pace, but much faster than what the general public would do going up the hill.

So we ran the fam runs all day and I was pretty much at race pace doing so. It was great for me because I really got to see the hill and got to know what corners were where and what gear I should be in to be fast. As it turns out, 2nd gear was what took me pretty much all the way up. There was a long straight that I would see the top of third, but then its full brakes back into 2nd.

The weather was much more cooperative on Sunday, race day. We did our fam runs in the morning and lined up. I made it up just fine, turning what was to be my fastest time up the mountain. My buddy made it up just fine in his Silver STi. Then when my brother was on the hill, and at the second turn his something in his steering broke and sent his off into the trees, and eventually a stream.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oDND4W8ynL8

You can hear something pop at about 0:19sec. Super scary considering that car has over 460whp and weighs less than 2600lbs.

It was pulled out and will be repaired, but he is out for the season. :(