no0b to performance mods

Daku

Reaction score
Im a pretty big noob when it comes to performance mods, i mean i know the basic jist of it but obv not as much as some of you might, basically i dont know where to start.
first off, i dont race, or take my car to the track often(once a while). but i do drive a lot and i tend to drive fast
My car is a 2000 coupe, i4 manual transmission. i desperately want a 6spd and a lil more power, especially when starting from 0

any suggestions in what i need, what i dont need and how to go about doing this?
also im a student, so money is pretty tight, im sure ill be doing this in stages

CG6Lemon

Detailing Enthusiast
Reaction score
a 5 speed is a good start. its a little more perky than the auto lol. just do some bolt ons since u just wanna smash on it for fun. im sure an intake will give u the excitment u want for a good couple months. :lawl:

Daku

Reaction score
well i know i want a 6spd and a little more power, but i dont know where to even start
i mean i know that ill need to do a engine and tranny swap to get the 6spd transmission, and doing that would also give me a slight performance boost
but what do i need to get?

Daku

Reaction score
a 5 speed is a good start. its a little more perky than the auto lol. just do some bolt ons since u just wanna smash on it for fun. im sure an intake will give u the excitment u want for a good couple months. :lawl:

lol an intake was the first thing i got, shoulda mentioned that. but even as a noob i dont consider that much of a performance boost:|
plus ive a very VERY heavy sound setup in the back, so im guessing i should try to get as much torque out of the car as possible
you mentioned bolt on mods, would headers and other things be considered that? what exactly would a good header do for me and any suggestions about other mods?

x5carl3tMurd3rx

Reaction score
well i know i want a 6spd and a little more power, but i dont know where to even start