total noob question on subwoofer installation

cyen008

Reaction score

jdmcg3

Reaction score
all subs need an amp to power em. youll also need a wire kit. and do you have an aftermarket stereo? if not you need a converter to make that work with your stock deck. it hardwires into the rear speakers.. honestly i forgot what its call.. maybe someone else can chime in on that.

but stay away from the "dual" sub. they suck. and honestly look into two 12s.. our cars are kinda big. and if you drive on the freeway alot.. you wont hear a single 10.. trust me i use to have a 10.. kept it in for about a week and half and then had to go back to my 12s..

just save up a little longer. and buy a full sub kit (sub, box, amp, wires) itll be around 400ish for a decent setup.

ooorrr if you really want a single 10.. well i got a JBL GT4 series sub/box with matching amp.. its right around the prices you were looking to pay for just that pioneer

pm if interested..

20-CG5-01

KanomNom
Reaction score
Get a sub that suites your needs. If you want alot of bass or just enough to make you happy.

Also, don't get those types of boxes, they're over priced junk. If you can, just make your own. But since you said you are uneducated about suewoofers, you can find some decent ones online on eBay, craigslist, or Amazon.

Read up on Sealed enclosures and Ported boxes. Everyone has their own perspective on them.

Also take measurements on boxes, enough room for the subwoofer/s you are getting. Don't waste money on an oversized box if you sub doesn't need it.

The only things you will need to install a new sound system is...

-Subwoofer
-Sub Box
-Amplifier
-Amp Kit (use spare wires for - and + on subs). Get 10-4 gauge wire kits. There's no need to go 0g unless you are putting out some crazy system set-up.
-Extra terminals to connect your subs through the box to the amp
-About 4 hours if it's your first time. (Google how to install your set-up and you should be good from there)