trunk lid tailight help

kevirl

Reaction score
Hey guys.
Really useful site, helped me change main relay recently.
I've tried searching but am still not sure, apologies if this is a total noob question.

Have a 99 2dr coupe 4cyl uk version, and im getting a brake lamp warning indicator presumably because trunk lid tailight isnt working.

The trunk light tailights circled are brake lights correct, and should come on when brake predal is pressed?

HhdwetM.png

Ive changed bulb but still nothing will try and test socket next.

Should I have a bulb on both left and right hand side for trunk lid tailghts? There seems to be only one on the right hand side, and I cant see any wiring for a tailight on the left hand side and housing seems blocked off??. I couldnt find a pic online of what its supposed to look like.

LH side:
bZgEFqsl.jpg

4iry4sfl.jpg

PHuGtGxl.jpg

RH side:
TazAyUzl.jpg

HxwSN1Wl.jpg

Thanks guys

Last edited:

james'99

Reaction score
Yes, they should be brake lights, at least on the USDM version. Interesting thing about your setup is not only are you missing the part of the harness for the left light, but your right light only has two wires going to it out of a needed three.

TazAyUzl.jpg

There should be three wires going to this bulb. Is the brake lamp light on your dash illuminated? Are there three wires on either end?

Last edited:

kevirl

Reaction score
Thanks james.
Yes looks like just two wires and not three
YaLM0cwl.jpg

, that go into an adapter below

Ly9HLO6l.jpg

will pull more of trunk liner out tomorrow to have a look at rest of harness. The stoplights on the body have the three wires.

Trying to find part no.s for whats missing, hoping to avoid leaving it with dealer for this, do you think harness number 2 in image below is for trunk lid?

2YHP8IPl.jpg

http://www.lingshondaparts.com/honda_car_parts_selection.php?block_01=17S8201&block_02=B__0701&block_03=413

And thats tailight part diagram for my vin
pslB2yAl.jpg