What's the deal on the needles?

Drakivaz

Reaction score
Hi, I've just registered here because I have been having a lot of trouble getting a straight answer on a few questions I have on modifying my gauge cluster.

I plan to make my own gauge faces - not EL, just regular with LEDs shining through. I have plans and methods on making the faces themselves, but the sticking point is the needles.

I've heard other places that the needles on a 2002 4cyl accord LX sedan are: -Impossible to remove
-Hard to remove
-able to be removed but must be replaced with new needles
-impossible to calibrate once replaced

I can't seem to get a straight answer on why it is impossible or any guidance on how to do it if it is possible - only discouragement.

I am an engineer, so I see it this way - The needles had to be created from pieces as the stock gauge face has a smaller hole than the needle head. If there was a stable way to assemble the cluster in the factory, there must be a safe way to take these pieces apart. I can't really get in and test pulling them apart because that could cost me my cluster if I do it wrong.

This is the type of cluster with three separate stock gauge faces and a bezel, not the single piece one.

Can anyone provide some direction on this matter?

HondaLuver83

Reaction score
You need to pull them out gentely by using a pulling and press motion with your fingers. U need to set ur gas guage to zero and mark where ur needle is on ur temp guage. When reinstalling, u shud test it in ur car without the plastic cover. Fill ur tank with gas and let ur car warm up for proper function. If the needles dont move, press them ever so slightly in. They are controlled by an electric magnet, if u push them too far down it wont work. There is kinda sweet spot with them. AS far as the others, I dont know. I did not mess with the RPM or SPEEDO, they look easier since the needle has a stud it rests on.

I have a guage cluster for parts if ur interested.