DIY Side Mirror Removal and Painting

kthung

Reaction score
The paint on my side mirrors was starting to chip so I wanted to paint over them. This is my first time doing any type of automotive painting so please don't be too harsh on the shoddiness of it.

Materials Used:
Philips screwdriver
Flat head screwdriver
10mm socket wrench
Sandpaper
Painter's tape
Dust mask (though an actual paint respirator/mask would be better)
Duplicolor Grey Filler/Primer
Duplicolor Heather Mist Mica
Duplicolor Clear Top Coat

Driver's side:
IMGP2584_zpsfcb2fab3.jpg

Passenger's side:
IMGP2585_zps4df7ef53.jpg

Start by removing the door latch. Remove the round plastic cover to expose the screw and unscrew. I haven't figured out how to remove the plastic covers without them snapping off. I think they're just old and brittle. Then slide the latch forward to pull it out.
IMGP2586_zpsed14b933.jpg

IMGP2591_zps3bc5ffff.jpg

Unplug the power lock cable.
IMGP2593_zps29337653.jpg

To remove the door latch, swing the small plastic piece out and pull the metal bar up out of the hole.
IMGP2592_zpsa2248d85.jpg

IMGP2594_zps6199a36c.jpg

IMGP2595_zps986ced56.jpg

Now remove the door handle. Flip up the black tab in the middle and remove the screw.
IMGP2588_zps8fbdcbf5.jpg

Pull up from the rear to pull it out of the slot. Remove the three cables for the windows and power mirrors.
IMGP2590_zps8c0acca5.jpg

To remove the door panel, use a flat head screwdriver to pop out the piece covering the mirror bolts. There are two clips.
IMGP2597_zps007c624c.jpg

Pop out this round thing.
IMGP2589_zps08b3a8df.jpg

Unclip the door panel on the left bottom and right side then pull the whole panel straight up. Twist the courtesy light bulb and pull out to completely remove the door panel.
IMGP2598_zpsff17b1bc.jpg

IMGP2599_zps10e81fba.jpg

Next unplug the mirror and detach this clip. There's adhesive around the clip so you need to work your flat screwdriver around the clip to loosen it first then wiggle it out.