02 i4 to v6 engine swap

irish

Reaction score
Ok guys I'm new, I've search through the old threads and haven't found my answer if I missed it somewhere sorry theres a lot of threads.

So here's the story.

Bought my son 02 accord EX-L v6 coupe leather For graduation. Did all this motor and tranny work to give him a good reliable car for college. Had about 6K in the car when all done and it was perfect inside and out. Had it 6 months and wrecked it totaled I only carried liability insurance. So I have found the exact same car in Florida. Same color, same interior, same trim line everything except it's a 4cyl.

Can I unbolt the engine/ tranny carrier with the front suspension, wiring harness. Drop it out and set the 4cyl body down on it bolt it up?

I know I will have to swap the computer, exhaust, and rear brakes (I think).

Is this as simple as I think? I'm a aircraft mechanic and I've worked on cars my whole life so I have ability.
But I'm smart enough to ask around to people that know more than me too. So tell me what I'm missing.

Thanks for all the help.

Varnell

Reaction score
It's certainly possible. The main issue is that everything between the two engine bays is mirrored. You'd need all the lines from the V6 for the i4 engine bay. Otherwise you'll be stuck making custom lines. I have an i4 EX-L that I really wanted to drop a v6 in, but weighed my options and it was simply cheaper to buy a v6 EX-L for the swap.

As far as swaps there are a few good engines you could swap into the i4 bay, but nothing quite as simple or torque-y as a v6.

Jordan_H

Reaction score
What Varnell said. I also remember something about you need to do something about making it spin the other way or you'll have 4 gears of reverse and 1 forward. Honestly it's not worth the trouble when you can just buy another v6

irish

Reaction score
I have a complete done car wouldn't everything that's not on the i4 be on my v6 doner?

Jordan_H

Reaction score