Do I keep the laptop.. Ethics question

VitoHGrind

Reaction score
So, today's the last day of my internship. Midway through I changed groups, but I kept the laptop from my original group. I called up my original boss and asked him what he wanted me to do with the laptop, meaning bring it back to him and his group, or leave it with the guys I'm with now. First he said bring it back, then he said actually he doesn't have any use for it and that the model's old enough (maybe a yr) that it doesn't matter. Then he said that I can talk it over with my new boss and we can decide the fate of the laptop from there, basically to say that taking it with me when I leave is an option. I'm a mechanical engineer for a computer manufacturer (won't say who) so there's a ton of laptops sitting around and thats all we do is work on, take apart, and design stuff for the laptops. Also, I know there have been other interns that got laptops (brand new, first gen, hot off the presses laptops) when they left.

So the question is, do I take the laptop w/ me or do I leave it?

Wildman

Read the rules
Reaction score
I'd go with what he told you, talk it over with the new boss and let him decide.

Otherwise you'd risk ruining a lot of work at an internship, and the possibility of a good job reference if they somehow found out you took it and it came back to bit you in the ***.

Quicksilvercord

Reaction score
I'd go with what he told you, talk it over with the new boss and let him decide.

Otherwise you'd risk ruining a lot of work at an internship, and the possibility of a good job reference if they somehow found out you took it and it came back to bit you in the ***.

Agreed

VitoHGrind

Reaction score