F23a1 and f23a4

Discussion in 'Accord Tech' started by 20accoedex01, Jan 1, 2020.

  1. 20accoedex01

    20accoedex01 Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Location:
    spring, tx
    I asked this topic on driveaccord.com but all I got were stupid replys from a idiot so I figured I'll ask it here since if gotten lots of help from y'all. I have a 01 accord ex with the f23a4 the oxygen sensor is bad but I don't have 300 for a new one. My lx with a f23a1 that was wrecked has a brand new sensor. Could I take that sensor and the ecu from the lx and put it in the ex and just reprogram it to my key?
     
  2. Eclipse99fwb

    Eclipse99fwb Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    190
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Location:
    Navarre Fl
    They sensor may work just compare the plug ends first. Not quite sure why you think you would need the ecu, a o2 sensor wouldnt need it to swap. As long as the plug is the same that is all you need.
     
  3. Enne

    Enne Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    234
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    The sensors are not the same. They share a plug and it'll fit, but you will get a code for the o2 sensor if you try to use the cheaper F23A1 sensor. And you will fail inspection for that code. So there's no reason to try and use it in an F23A4.

    The F23A4 sensor works differently from the F23A1 sensor, so the computer will not be able to understand the data it's sending. Even if you swapped the ECU to try and bypass this, you'd most likely still get a code. That is a really complicated, flawed workaround to just spending the money on a new, proper sensor lol

    They sell the F23A4 upstream sensor on RockAuto for $110.79, by the way.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2020
    cg4ever and RedRyder like this.
  4. Eclipse99fwb

    Eclipse99fwb Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    190
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Location:
    Navarre Fl
    Good to know, i wasnt aware.
     
  5. RedRyder

    RedRyder Save the manuals

    Posts:
    19,371
    Likes Received:
    86
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Location:
    Fawking, OH
    cg4ever likes this.
  6. 20accoedex01

    20accoedex01 Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Location:
    spring, tx
    Ok well since I'm having issues with the f23a4 I can get a jdm f23a here in Houston for 400 will the f23a4 ulev ecu run the jdm f23a? Or do I need a f23a1 ecu cause it's the lev calibration, came as the fun f23a
     
  7. 20accoedex01

    20accoedex01 Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Location:
    spring, tx
    I ment jdm not fun. And same not came
     
  8. Enne

    Enne Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    234
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    You didn't have $300 for a sensor but now you're doing an engine swap and buying a $400 engine...? Why? What's wrong with the one you have now?

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
     
  9. 20accoedex01

    20accoedex01 Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Location:
    spring, tx
    Cause I'm getting 200 miles in a tank of gas and it makes no sense to spend 300 on a sensor when I can get the whole motor for 400
     
  10. 20accoedex01

    20accoedex01 Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Location:
    spring, tx
    Oh and I keep getting the p1381. I posted that issue in a new topic
     

Share This Page