F23a1 and f23a4

20accoedex01

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2019
Posts
14
Reaction score
0
Location
spring, tx
I asked this topic on driveaccord.com but all I got were stupid replys from a idiot so I figured I'll ask it here since if gotten lots of help from y'all. I have a 01 accord ex with the f23a4 the oxygen sensor is bad but I don't have 300 for a new one. My lx with a f23a1 that was wrecked has a brand new sensor. Could I take that sensor and the ecu from the lx and put it in the ex and just reprogram it to my key?
 

Eclipse99fwb

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 15, 2016
Posts
228
Reaction score
9
Location
Navarre Fl
They sensor may work just compare the plug ends first. Not quite sure why you think you would need the ecu, a o2 sensor wouldnt need it to swap. As long as the plug is the same that is all you need.
 

Enne

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Posts
241
Reaction score
17
Location
Pennsylvania
The sensors are not the same. They share a plug and it'll fit, but you will get a code for the o2 sensor if you try to use the cheaper F23A1 sensor. And you will fail inspection for that code. So there's no reason to try and use it in an F23A4.

The F23A4 sensor works differently from the F23A1 sensor, so the computer will not be able to understand the data it's sending. Even if you swapped the ECU to try and bypass this, you'd most likely still get a code. That is a really complicated, flawed workaround to just spending the money on a new, proper sensor lol

They sell the F23A4 upstream sensor on RockAuto for $110.79, by the way.
 
Last edited:

20accoedex01

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2019
Posts
14
Reaction score
0
Location
spring, tx
Ok well since I'm having issues with the f23a4 I can get a jdm f23a here in Houston for 400 will the f23a4 ulev ecu run the jdm f23a? Or do I need a f23a1 ecu cause it's the lev calibration, came as the fun f23a
 

Enne

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Posts
241
Reaction score
17
Location
Pennsylvania
You didn't have $300 for a sensor but now you're doing an engine swap and buying a $400 engine...? Why? What's wrong with the one you have now?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

20accoedex01

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2019
Posts
14
Reaction score
0
Location
spring, tx
Cause I'm getting 200 miles in a tank of gas and it makes no sense to spend 300 on a sensor when I can get the whole motor for 400
 

Latest posts

Back
Top