Need help choosing Tools

Reaction score
Okay, so first off. I don't own any tools (ratchets, sockets, wrenches etc.). Doing some shopping on amazon trying to find the right tools i will need to work on my 98 Honda Accord LX 4 cyl. What do you guys recommend? Here is what I am planning on getting so far:

-3/8 ratchet
-12 inch breaker bar
-socket sizes in metric 8-19mm
-wrench set 8-19mm

What i really want to know is if i will need a 1/2 ratchet and sockets or will i be fine with this. I am a beginner. The first thing I plan to replace is the motor mounts. What do you guys think?

RedRyder

Save the manuals
Reaction score
First set of tools I bought was a 137pc Craftsman kit from Sears, it's paid for itself 100 times over. Its an easy way to get the majority of tools you use for most jobs. Breaker bar is definitely a good idea, though 1/2" drive is probably more useful. From there its just picking up other tools as you go.

Changing motor mounts is a decent job, especially when you get to the rear. Make sure you are prepared and know what you're doing.

Reaction score
Why would a 1/2 be more useful? Is it just stronger? Also, do you know if i will need sockets larger than 19mm for the accord?

FNCONE

Reaction score
-A jack (not the factory one)
-Jack stands
-Piece of wood for the jack to raise the engine a bit.
-WD-40, PB plaster
-Try get 1/2 inch ratchet and breaker
-Some wrenches and sockets. For Hondas 8 10 12 14 17 19
-Maybe 2 12" extensions for that rear mount.
The 1/2 will give you more torque,. If they are tight, I use the jack bar to make a cheater bar (if your ratchet fits in the bar).
The right tool gets the job done.
For a v6 you wont need bigger than 19 to do mounts. (someone can chime in for the i4)

If you are going to do more work, definitely invest in a set. Piecing it together gets more expensive than just buying a set.
GOOD LUCK!

kthung

Reaction score