exhaust sizing and compatibility

UTIaccord

Reaction score
Getting ready to start on my accord, tbh I have very little experience with hondas. My biggest project was my 92 f-150. I'm looking for a cat-back system with a tip outlet between 2.5" and 3.5"

I've put in some research and found that tanabe has a tip "tuner medalion" that has a tip outlet of 3.5, but unfortunately tanabe used to have the medalion touring but they dont make the version of it for our cars anymore :(
i would go with megan but they have if i remember correctly a 4-4.5" outlet
and honestly i dont feel like spending the money for a cat back just to cut the muffler off and then buy a new one.

So does anyone know of a company that offers a catback system with a tip outlet of 2.5" to 3.5" for our cars or am I looking at having to get custom work done?

Last edited:

UTIaccord

Reaction score

Yeah i saw his for sale the other day and was seriously considering it only thing is i hate the look of the oblong shaped mufflers stickin out there lol

i honestly would have jumped on that and bought it but thats the "hyper" tip and i was goin for the "racing" tip that tanabe offers, i know that sounds kinda picky but im very perticular bout what goes on my car and how it looks (as im sure we all are lol) i like the canister look i just couldnt bring myself to have the oval muffler on there, which brings me back to the whole cutting the muffler off and buying a new one thing lol

RedRyder

Save the manuals
Reaction score
Your OEM muffler is ovular...it's either that or circular. And circular usually doesn't end up looking/sounding very good imo.

Comptech made mufflers that have under 4" tips but they are hard to find since they also are not in production anymore. Does Vibrant make a muffler with a smaller tip?

UTIaccord

Reaction score
Do you have a v6 or i4?

Anyway, look into the Magnaflow catback. The canister & tip look nice and not obnoxious.